head img  
NTU Taiwan University img


Doctoral Students from the College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Come to the Fore, Exhibiting Excellent Strength in Technological Research and Development

The review results for 2007 IBM Ph.D. Fellowship Program have been officially announced. Three doctoral students from NTU's College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science won the fellowship. They are: Liu Cheng-jung major professor Pao-yi Hwang, Wu Shang-hung(major professor Ming-syan Chen), and You Chuang-wen(major professor Hao-hua Chu). Their winning the fellowship is ample indication that Taiwanese university students' capability in technological research and development is well above the international standards.

The IBM Ph.D. Fellowship Program is an incentive program geared toward doctoralstudents worldwide who are engaged in technological research. The review committee members are made up of heads of R&D departments from IBM offices all over the world, and winners of the fellowships must pass through very strict review procedures and criteria. In spite of the fact that this is the first time for Taiwan to participate in the program, NTU has three doctoral students from the College of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science winning the much coveted fellowship, providing yet another concrete proof of NTU's outstanding capability at technological research and development, and its excellent results in fostering talents. In addition to providing the winners with stipends for tuition and living expenses (for a period of 9 months), IBM Corporation will also assign mentors to offer guidance and counseling to the doctoral fellows, plus internship opportunities at IBM's R&D units.

Chinese version