Spotlight

Date: 2017/7/26

NTU Team Invited to Seek Primordial Gravitational Waves at Tibet

A Stanford professor of physics and an alumnus of the NTU Department of Physics, Chao-Lin Kuo (郭兆林) is leading the US-based BICEP3 team consisting of members from Harvard University, California Institute of Technology, and University of Minnesota. In addition to detecting primordial gravitational waves at the South Pole in the series of BICEP experiments, Prof. Kuo leads the Stanford team to collaborate the research team directed by Prof. Xinmin Zhang (張新民) from the Institute of High Energy Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. Their objective is to find an extremely dry place suitable for observation and with access to logistics in the Ali area on the Tibetan Plateau. In addition to collecting data of the Northern Sky, the project hopes to confirm or detect the primordial gravitational waves that the team has been trying to detect at the South Pole.

On July 16, the team members traveled a long way and finally arrived at the No.1 Observation Station in Ali at the altitude of 5,250 m. Devices for detecting gravitational waves have been under construction for Phase 1 investigation. The team members have started to travel upward to the altitude of 5,950 m in search of a better spot to set up high-frequency devices for the next phase of investigation. The team’s goal is to build the world’s highest astronomical observation station at the altitude of 6,000 m.

In Taiwan, Prof. Kuo invited NTU Profs. Wei-Hsin Sun (孫維新; also Director-General of the National Museum of Natural Sciences), Pisin Chen (陳丕燊; also LeCosPA Director), and Jiun-Huei Proty Wu (吳俊輝) to participate in the project. In particular, Prof. Sun has worked on the Tibetan Plateau for nearly 10 years, building an optical telescope observatory there and promoting astronomical education. Therefore, he plays a crucial role in the following investigations and developments of the Ali Project.

According to the NTU team, the strong gravitational waves that appeared along with the Big Bang and expanded in the universe are named “primordial gravitational waves.” Albert Einstein predicted the existence of gravitational waves as early as the year following his publication of special relativity in 1915. The gravitational waves of black holes were detected last year, but the Holy Grail of cosmology—primordial gravitational waves—is yet to be seen. Although the BICEP team’s claim of discovering gravitational waves at the South Pole in 2014 was later withdrawn, the team’s detection and measurement are still recognized as the most precise in the world. In other words, the detection of primordial gravitational waves is not far away.

  • Stanford Prof. Chao-Lin Kuo (third from left) and NTU team members, Kuo-Pin Huang (first from left), Prof. Wei-Hsin Sun (second from left), and Yu-Han Tseng (fourth from left) at Ali, Tibet. Behind them is the base column for placing observation facilities.

    Stanford Prof. Chao-Lin Kuo (third from left) and NTU team members, Kuo-Pin Huang (first from left), Prof. Wei-Hsin Sun (second from left), and Yu-Han Tseng (fourth from left) at Ali, Tibet. Behind them is the base column for placing observation facilities.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

焦點新聞

更新日期:106年7月26日

臺大團隊西藏探尋大霹靂的回音-原初重力波
史丹福大學郭兆林教授邀集孫維新教授、梁次震中心陳丕燊教授和吳俊輝教授參加宇宙學尖端計畫

領導美國BICEP3團隊(包括哈佛大學、加州理工大學、明尼蘇達大學)的史丹福大學教授郭兆林,1994年畢業自臺大物理系。BICEP系列實驗除了長年在南極偵測原初重力波,現在郭教授也帶領美國史丹福團隊,另外與大陸中科院高能所張新民教授主持的團隊展開合作,希望在西藏高原的阿里地區,找到一塊條件像南極一樣極乾燥,觀測條件優越且後勤支援更為便捷之處進行觀測,除了收集北天資料,也有希望可確認或與南極點同時觀測到原初重力波。

7月16日,阿里計劃探勘團隊人員經歷了漫長旅途,抵達位於海拔5,250公尺高的阿里一號觀測點,該地已經開始建置重力波偵測設施,進行計畫第一期的探索。團隊成員為了尋找高原上更佳地點,作為下一階段高頻率儀器的設置場域,已經前進到環境更艱苦的高峰5,950米之處進行探勘,未來希望能在6,000米的海拔高度,打造世界最高的專業天文觀測設施!

在臺灣方面,該計劃由郭教授邀集臺大孫維新教授、梁次震中心陳丕燊教授和吳俊輝教授參加。其中,孫維新教授(目前同時擔任國立自然科學博物館館長)在青藏高原工作近10年,建立光學望遠鏡天文台及教育推廣展示,在阿里計劃後續的探勘和建設中,將扮演重要角色。

臺大團隊指出,緊接在宇宙大霹靂之後的暴漲,會產生強烈的重力波,在宇宙中擴散,稱為「原初重力波」,1915年愛因斯坦發表「廣義相對論」之後,次年就預測重力波的存在。相較於去年發現的黑洞重力波,號稱宇宙學研究聖杯的「原初重力波」,卻杳無音訊。2014年美國BICEP團隊發表南極觀測到重力波,舉世震撼,雖然後來證實為宇宙前景,然而學界公認該團隊研究為世界最精準的量測,可說原初重力波就在轉角處了。

學長帶學弟

此次高原探勘行旅,臺大物理系學生曾宇翰也隨同參加,讓臺大年輕學子可以第一手參與世界級計畫,「學長帶學弟」亦是佳話一則。臺大近幾年能一路走來加入這重要而嶄新的科學計畫,要歸功楊泮池前校長自2014年的全力相挺,提供精神與實質上的重大支持。在全世界天文學家競逐原初重力波的聖杯之際,協力尋找最佳的科研環境,研發與建設大型觀測設備,試圖抓住這個飄盪在宇宙中138億年之久的「大霹靂的回音」!

  • 大合照

    7月16日,在海拔高度5,250米的阿里觀測點基座工地前,臺大學長學弟合影留念。畫面左起為臺大團隊黃國斌、孫維新教授、史丹福大學郭兆林教授,以及臺大學生曾宇翰,背景為重力波觀測設施即將置放的觀測基柱。

當期焦點

facebook twitter google+ plurk 轉寄好友 友善列印
回到頂端