Spotlight

Date: 2017/10/24

Mechanism & Machine Theory Research Lab Attends International Motor Show

The IAA Pkw or International Motor Show of Passenger Vehicles is the largest motor show in Europe, and is held in odd-numbered years in Messe Frankfurt. The venue’s area of this year reached 200,000 square meters, including eight halls and seven outdoor exhibition areas. The show offered 363 innovations including 228 world premieres, 64 European premieres, 32 German premieres, and 39 research studies, and attracted over 900,000 visitors during September 12-24.

The Mechanism and Machine Theory Research Lab of National Taiwan University (NTU) and its research partner Giant-Lion Know-How Company attended the international motor show in Frankfurt this year, presenting innovative designs such as the Dual CVT System, P-Car, L-Car, and Battery with a Multi-Way Plate. The Dual CVT System was developed jointly by Giant-Lion and the Mechanism and Machine Theory Research Lab. Based on DAF’s Variomatic in the late 1950s, this system has the function of a CVT, a limited-slip, and a torque vectoring differential. A prototype of the Dual CVT Module was shown at the booth with a video introduction to the kart with the Dual CVT System. The P-Car and L-Car were small electric vehicles built by Giant-Lion. Their left and right rear wheels are driven by two independent motors controlled by one single controller to reduce the cost and complexity of electronic systems. The range after a full charge is 100 km for P-Car and 50 km for L-Car. These ranges are suitable for car sharing in the city and short-distance commuting. The shape of the Multi-Way Plate is designed to reduce its internal resistance and energy loss, allowing the battery to be charged much faster and more efficiently. Other techniques such as the Double Action Centrifugal Clutch, Power-Split Device for Hybrid Vehicles, and Electric Systems for Stop-and-Go Systems were also introduced using posters.

The motto of the motor show this year was “Zufunft Erleben” or “Experience the Future.” Owing to the recent exhaust scandals, most of the car manufacturers displayed technologies related to electric or hybrid vehicles. Mercedes-Benz showed GLC F-Cell with the plug-in hybrid system formed by a hydrogen fuel cell and Li-ion batteries. Mercedes also displayed sports car Project One, which has twin-motor-driven front wheels and rear wheels driven by a hybrid V6 engine with an electric supercharger. Its main competitor, BMW, displayed various electric and hybrid cars such as the i3 and i8. The sports car NSX, made by Honda, also has the configuration of motor-driven front wheels and hybrid-engine-driven rear wheels. The i-MMD hybrid system and the fuel-cell car Clarity were also displayed at Honda’s booth. Other brands like Volkswagen, Citroën, Kia, and Borgward all showed their own electric and hybrid cars. For parts makers like ZF, AISIN, Schaeffler, Borg-Warner, and GKN, their designs and techniques provided cleaner and more efficient solutions to the powertrain of electric and hybrid vehicles. These solutions included motor modules for integrated starter generators (ISGs), gearboxes for hybrid cars, and e-Axle modules which are the combination of traction motors, controllers, and differentials.

The most interesting place in the motor show was Mercedes-Benz’s hall, which was just like a small museum. Besides the chassis of fuel-cell and hybrid cars, there were also several cut-apart engines for demonstration, from gasoline to diesel, and from L4 to V8. With the aid of augmented reality, visitors could easily understand the features and technologies of each engine simply by walking around the engine with the tablet provided. The animation of every subsystem would then be shown on the screen automatically. Another benefit of this colorful human-machine interface is that the booth staff can discuss in more detail with experienced visitors without having to constantly tend to the crowd of visitors passing through.

At the corner of Hall 8.0, Robert Bosch GmbH presented a novel metal push belt for the CVT, named Single Loopset Belt. The belt has only one steel band, which can be held firmly within the central cavity of the U-shaped blocks. Unlike the traditional Van Doorne-type push belt, of which the two steel bands are easy to be detached from the H-shaped blocks, the new belt can help reduce the power loss of the variator up to 40%, and the maximum torque capacity is enhanced from 350 to 500 Nm. According to the official video introduction, with the aid of the belt, the size of the variator can be decreased by 12%, and the overall efficiency of the CVT gearbox will be 2% higher. It would bring a revolutionary change in the development of the CVT, if the novel Single Loopset Belt could replace the Van Doorne-type push belt which is widely used by entry- and mid-level cars.

Outside the exhibition halls, there were outdoor test drive areas that provided activities including: off-road driving, cone driving, autonomous emergency braking (AEB) system trials, and electric scooter test rides. For those who want to take a rest and to recharge their batteries before starting the adventure to another hall, there were kiosks and stands selling various foods, drinks, and even die-cast models. Race car simulators were also provided for Formula 1, WRC, or Le Mans enthusiasts. The 13-day exhibition not only gave us a chance to understand the trend of the global automobile market and the vehicle industry, but was also a gigantic festival designed for all car lovers around the world.

(Source: Hsien-Yu Kuo, Ph.D. Candidate of Mechanical Engineering, NTU)

  • Booth staff of the NTU Mechanism and Machine Theory Research Lab and the Giant-Lion Know-How Company.

    Booth staff of the NTU Mechanism and Machine Theory Research Lab and the Giant-Lion Know-How Company.
    (Photographer: Tyng Liu)

  • Booth staff of the NTU Mechanism and Machine Theory Research Lab.

    Booth staff of the NTU Mechanism and Machine Theory Research Lab.
    (Photographer: Tyng Liu)

  • The entrance of Messe Frankfurt.

    The entrance of Messe Frankfurt.
    (Photographer: Albert Bo-Wei Li)

  • The chassis of Mercedes-Benz Project One.

    The chassis of Mercedes-Benz Project One.
    (Photographer: Hsien-Yu Kuo)

  • The chassis of Mercedes-Benz GLC F-Cell.

    The chassis of Mercedes-Benz GLC F-Cell.
    (Photographer: Hsien-Yu Kuo)

  • A close look at the Single Loopset Belt developed by Robert Bosch GmbH.

    A close look at the Single Loopset Belt developed by Robert Bosch GmbH.
    (Photographer: Hsien-Yu Kuo)

  • Booth staff Introduce the Dual CVT Module and the kart with the Dual CVT System.

    Booth staff introduce the Dual CVT Module and the kart with the Dual CVT System.
    (Photographer: Gina Yang)

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

焦點新聞

更新日期:106年10月24日

2017年第67屆法蘭克福車展(IAA Pkw 2017)參展紀實

法蘭克福車展為歐洲規模最大的國際性車展,每兩年於法蘭克福展覽館(Messe Frankfurt)舉辦。今年展場面積達20萬平方公尺,包含8個室內展館與7個室外展區。共展出363項創新科技,其中有228項全球首發、64項歐洲首發、32項德國首發與39項研究成果。展期從9/12至9/13的媒體日、9/14至9/15的商務日、再到9/16至9/24的公眾日,吸引逾90萬人次的參觀者。

今年臺大機械系機構與機器原理實驗室與長期合作的巨獅創意科技公司一同參與本次展覽,共展出雙CVT系統、P-Car、L-Car與電池極板等多項創新設計。其中雙CVT系統為本校機械系機構與機器原理實驗室與巨獅創意科技公司合作研發,此構想改良自荷蘭DAF與1950年代末發表的Variomatic系統,具有無段變速、防滑差速器、與扭力導引(Torque Vectoring)功能。展覽現場除了有雙CVT模組實物展出外,亦播放搭載該系統的卡丁車介紹影片。P-Car與L-Car則為巨獅創意科技股份有限公司所獨立開發的小型電動車輛,採用單一控制器同時控制雙馬達以驅動後輪的架構,續航力分別為100與50公里,分別對應市區共享車輛系統、以及短程代步車的使用環境。電池極板的形狀則採用特殊設計以減小內部阻抗與能量損耗,以便進行快速充電。同時亦透過海報展示了雙動式離心離合器、對應Stop-and-Go系統的車輛電源系統、及油電混合動力車輛的動力分配裝置(Power-Split Device)等創新設計。

本次的法蘭克福車展以「體驗未來(Zukunft Erleben)」為主題,受先前排氣造假風波的影響,各家車廠大多展示與電動或混合動力車款相關的科技。如Mercedes-Benz的GLC F-Cell車款搭載了利用氫氧燃料電池搭配鋰離子電池所構成的插電式混合動力系統、以及前輪採用雙馬達驅動,後輪由附有電動增壓器的油電混合V6引擎驅動的Project One跑車。其主要競爭對手BMW亦展出了i3、i8等多種電動與混動車輛。Honda則展出採用雙馬達技術的i-MMD混合動力系統、其旗艦跑車NSX亦採用了前輪雙馬達驅動搭配油電混合V6引擎驅動後輪的設計。其他車廠如Volkswagen、Citroën、Kia、Borgward等,在本次的展覽中,皆展出了大量的電動與混合動力車輛。在非整車廠方面,老牌傳動系統大廠如ZF、AISIN、Schaeffler、Borg-Warner、GKN等,皆因應新能源車的浪潮,展出了如ISG用馬達模組、油電混合車用變速箱、以及將馬達與控制器、差速器整合為一體的e-Axle模組等一系列供電動車或混動車使用的傳動系統設計。

其中較值得一提的是Mercedes-Benz完全比照博物館等級的展館,場內除了燃料電池車與油電車的底盤實體外,更沿著參觀路徑擺放了數具解剖後的引擎,從汽油到柴油、直列四缸到V形八缸一應具全。此外更利用AR(擴充虛擬實境)技術,將內部機件的3D動畫即時呈現在平板上,參觀者只需推著螢幕座架繞引擎轉一圈,就能清楚了解各款引擎設計的特色以及運作原理。相較於一般將實物與解說影片分開陳列的做法,此種方式不僅能讓參觀者快速了解展品內容,也可節省展場人員體力,使其能將大部份精力留待與少數技術專精者進行深度討論。

另外德國這次Bosch十分低調的展出了供CVT使用的新款推力式金屬皮帶Single Loopset Belt。此款皮帶只需使用一條鋼帶,經過重新設計的夾片形狀類似「臼」字的下半部,組合完成後可令鋼帶穩定的嵌合在中央的凹口內,不若傳統的Van Doorne式金屬皮帶容易發生兩條鋼帶與H形夾片脫開的問題。此新款皮帶最高可減少皮帶輪組40%的功率損耗,同時可傳輸的最大扭力也由舊款的350Nm一舉躍升到500Nm。根據Bosch的介紹影片,將有助於減小皮帶輪組的體積達12%,可提升CVT變速箱整體的效率達2%。若能取代目前大量應用於平價車款的Van Doorne式皮帶,相信會對CVT的發展帶來另一波革命。

除了室內展館外,室外亦設有大量的實車體驗區,包含越野、繞錐行駛、自動緊急煞車系統(AEB)體驗、電動機車試乘等。除此之外亦有賽車模擬器、汽車模型店、以及無數個小吃與飲料攤位,逛累時可隨時坐下歇腳、補充體力,以便繼續迎向下一個展場。總計13日的展期,除了可了解汽車產業的最新趨勢與市場動向,亦可一親心儀已久的夢幻車款的芳澤,可說是為全世界愛車人士量身打造的大型園遊會。

  • 人員合影

    臺大機械系機構與機器原理實驗室與巨獅創意科技股份有限公司雙方展區人員合影。
    圖片來源:劉霆

  • 人員合影

    臺大機械系機構與機器原理實驗室與巨獅創意科技股份有限公司雙方展區人員合影。
    圖片來源:劉霆

  • 法蘭克福展覽館(Messe Frankfurt)車展入口

    法蘭克福展覽館(Messe Frankfurt)車展入口
    圖片來源:李柏緯

  • Mercedes-Benz Project One懸吊與動力系統

    Mercedes-Benz Project One懸吊與動力系統
    圖片來源:郭先予

  • Mercedes-Benz Project One懸吊與動力系統

    Mercedes-Benz Project One懸吊與動力系統
    圖片來源:郭先予

  • Bosch所展出的Single Loopset Belt近照

    Bosch所展出的Single Loopset Belt近照
    圖片來源:郭先予

  • 向參觀者解說雙CVT模組以及雙CVT卡丁車介紹影片

    向參觀者解說雙CVT模組以及雙CVT卡丁車介紹影片
    圖片來源:Gina Yang

當期焦點

facebook twitter google+ plurk 轉寄好友 友善列印
回到頂端