Spotlight

Date: 2018/1/14

NTU Prof. Chih-Yuan Lu Elected Fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors

Dr. Chih-Yuan (C.Y.) Lu (盧志遠), Distinguished Chair Professor of Physics at National Taiwan University (NTU), was elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) for his long-term contribution to and distinguished accomplishments in advanced technology. All the NAI Fellows were recognized for demonstrating “a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society.” NAI will present this prestigious honor to Dr. Lu at its Fellows Induction Ceremony on April 5, 2018 in Washington, DC, USA.

NAI Fellow is one of the most important honors for international inventors. Dr. Lu has more than 30 years of professional experience in the semiconductor industry. He has consistently been recognized both at home and abroad for his accomplishments in high-tech research and development (R&D). In the mid-1980s, when he was a member of the research technical staff at Bell Labs, he developed the 600V BCDMOS IC technology—the highest voltage the industry had achieved at that time. In 1987, he presented a seminal technical paper, "Variable Hold (Retention) Time Phenomenon in DRAM," at IEDM. This was the world's first-ever technical paper on the phenomenon, which helped the industry greatly improve the reliability of DRAM. Dr. Lu then led the R&D efforts on the sixth generation twin-tub 0.6 micron CMOS technology at Bell Labs, which allowed the semiconductor industry to flourish and remains widely applied today.

In 1989, at the invitation of then Taiwan ROC’s Senior Presidential Advisor K.T. Lee (李國鼎) and then Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI) Chairman Morris Chang (張忠謀), Dr. Lu returned to Taiwan to assume the position of Deputy General Director of the non-profit R&D institute ITRI’s Electronic Research and Service Organization (ERSO). He was later appointed to head the Ministry of Economic Affairs' National Submicron Project, leading the project team to achieve Taiwan's most successful development of its independent R&D for the mass manufacturing of advanced memory technology. This accomplishment not only equipped Taiwan with its first 8-inch wafer process technology, but also established Taiwan’s technology and manufacturing position in the global semiconductor supply chain. Under Dr. Lu's leadership, Taiwan evolved into a major player in the semiconductor industry by the late 1990s. In 1994, the Submicron Project was spun off from ITRI to become a commercially-operated company, Vanguard International Semiconductor (VIS). Co-founded by Dr. Lu, VIS later became a key driver for the development of Taiwan's semiconductor memory industry.

In 1999, Dr. Lu joined Macronix to lead the company's R&D team for advanced memory technology, and to establish long-term strategic partnerships with world-class tech companies such as IBM. Dr. Lu’s team has presented its innovative technologies at prestigious international technical conferences such as IEDM, ISSCC, VLSI, and SSDM, which garnered them worldwide attention and recognition. In recent years, Macronix has been granted with more than 7,200 international patents for high-quality inventions. Dr. Lu also founded Ardentec Corporation, a wafer level IC testing service startup. Ardentec is one of the few companies that could provide known-good-die testing services in mass production then, which are a critical important technology for System-in-Package (SiP) solutions in modern electronics. This business model has also been adopted as MBA case study material by Harvard Business School.

Dr. Lu has published more than 480 technical papers and is an academic inventor of over 160 international patents. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics (IEEE), a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), and a Fellow of the Chinese Society for Management of Technology. He has received many honorary awards, including the 2012 IEEE Frederik Philips Award, IEEE Third Millennium Medal, National Science and Technology Medal from the Prime Minister of Taiwan, Outstanding Research Award of Pan Wen Yuan Foundation, Special Contribution Award of the Physical Society of Taiwan, Superiority Business Award by the Ministry of Economic Affairs and the General Chamber of Commerce of the Republic of China, Distinguished Alumni Award of NTU, Honorary Doctorate from National Chiao Tung University, ITRI Laureate, Presidential Science Prize of Taiwan, the World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Prize in Engineering Sciences, and Highest Honor Medal from the Chinese Society for Management of Technology.

NAI has named 155 renowned academic inventors to NAI Fellow status in 2017. With the election of the 2017 class, there are now 912 NAI Fellows, representing over 250 research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes. The 2017 Fellows are named inventors on nearly 6,000 issued US patents of academic inventions, bringing the collective patents held by all NAI Fellows to more than 32,000 issued US patents. Included among those NAI Fellows are 29 Nobel Laureates and 52 recipients of US National Medal.

For further information about the NAI Fellows Program and the NAI Annual Meeting, please visit the NAI websites below:
http://academyofinventors.org/fellows.asp
http://www.academyofinventors.org/conference/

  • NTU Distinguished Chair Prof. Chih-Yuan Lu was elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.

    NTU Distinguished Chair Prof. Chih-Yuan Lu was elected a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

焦點新聞

更新日期:107年1月14日

盧志遠博士榮獲美國國家發明家學院院士

物理系特聘研究講座教授盧志遠博士榮獲學術發明家最高榮譽 -「2017年美國國家發明家學院 (NAI, National Academy of Inventors) 院士 (NAI Fellow)」。盧博士獲此榮銜,彰顯NAI高度推崇與肯定其傑出發明,對於促進生活品質、經濟發展和社會福利展現高度且豐富多元的創新精神,並產生實質性影響力。盧志遠博士將於2018年4月5日應邀至美國受奬表揚。

NAI 院士是國際發明家最重要的榮譽之一,除了學術成就,更推崇學有所用。臺大傑出校友,目前也是臺大物理系特聘講座教授的盧志遠博士,浸淫半導體產學研界逾30年。他長期投身於科技創新及尖端研發,不但是位傑出科研專家,且又能具體實踐應用。早於1980年代中期,盧志遠博士即在Bell Labs研發當時業界最高伏技術600V之BCDMOS IC技術,他也是全球首位於IEDM發表DRAM最詭譎的可靠性問題技術論文,之後領導研發Bell Labs 0.6微米 Twin-tub CMOS元件製程技術,其技術理論迄今仍被廣泛引用。而他於1989年受邀回臺,出任工研院電子所副所長,帶領執行國家次微米計畫,讓臺灣具備八吋晶圓產製能力。次微米計畫後衍生成立世界先進公司,成為催化臺灣記憶體產業的重要推手。

1999年,盧志遠博士加入旺宏電子,專注非揮發性記憶體前瞻技術研發,帶領旺宏研發團隊持續在國際重要學術會議如IEDM、ISSCC、VLSI、IRPS等發表多項次世代記憶體先驅技術,研發實力屢獲全球高度肯定。旺宏電子目前於全球所擁有的高品質專利數已逾7,200項。而他所創辦的欣銓科技,證實晶圓級測試為可行的商業模式,更成為尖端半導體生產過程中不可或缺的一環,也獲得美國哈佛大學商學院(HBS)納為推廣教案。

盧志遠博士積極鑽研電子元件及材料科技,發表超過 480多篇學術及技術論文,更擁有160餘項國際專利,榮獲無數國內外獎項及榮耀肯定,包括美國電機電子學會IEEE千禧傑出獎章、潘文淵文教基金會研究傑出獎、行政院傑出科技人才獎,有世界科技研發工程師界奧斯卡獎之稱的IEEE Frederik Philips Award、國家最高榮譽科學研究獎項--總統科學獎,及世界科學院(TWAS)工程科學獎等,更獲得美國物理學會APS Fellow、IEEE Fellow、中華民國科技管理學會院士及科技管理獎、工研院院士、臺大傑出校友、交大名譽博士等榮銜。盧博士不但在百忙之中仍應允擔任物理系特聘講座教授,向學術界分享豐碩的產業經驗,更熱心支持母校及物理系所及產學研界各項活動,包括長期贊助中華民國物理學會年會等,皆是以實際行動支持科技教育推廣及人才培育計畫。

NAI於 2017年選出155名新院士,目前全球共有912位NAI院士,他們皆是重要的學術界巨擘與掌舵者,包含29位諾貝爾獎得主,52位美國國家學術院院士等,所擁有的美國專利超過32,000個。過去院士中的臺灣學者還包括科技部長 陳良基、臺北醫學大學校長 閻雲、中央研究院長 廖俊智、前臺大校長 楊泮池、交通大學校長 張懋中、中央研究院院士 錢煦、朱經武 和李文華等人。這些NAI院士的成就與努力貢獻,為全世界的經濟與社會進步發展提供創新動力, 也為人類醫療健康和環境永續帶來福祉與希望。

美國國家發明家學院暨年會相關網站:
http://academyofinventors.org/fellows.asp
http://www.academyofinventors.org/conference/

  • 盧志遠博士

    盧志遠博士榮獲2017年美國國家發明家學院院士

當期焦點

facebook twitter google+ plurk 轉寄好友 友善列印
回到頂端