Spotlight

Date: 2018/5/8

NTU and Kyoto U Launch a Master’s Double Degree Program in Agriculture

In late March, Dean Huu-Sheng Lur (盧虎生) of the NTU College of Bioresources and Agriculture (CBA-NTU) led a delegation to visit Kyoto University (KU). During the visit, Dean Lur signed a Master’s Double Degree Program agreement with Dean Eiji Nawata (繩田榮治) of the KU Graduate School of Agriculture (GSAKU), and discussed related details about the collaboration.

According to this agreement, students from either of the two colleges enrolled in this program will receive a master’s double degree from the two leading universities in Taiwan and Japan if they meet the graduation requirements of both academic systems. This agreement not only marks a new historic milestone in the long-term friendship and partnership between the two colleges, but also represents the fruition of close interactions over the past few years.

In 2012, Prof. Takashi Endo (遠藤 隆), then-Dean of GSAKU, was invited to Taiwan to attend the International Meeting for Deans of the Colleges of Agriculture hosted by CBA-NTU. Deeply impressed by the warm reception and the agenda at the meeting, Prof. Endo particularly expressed deep appreciation for the compassion and generous assistance of Taiwanese people to Japan after the devastating March 11, 2011 Tōhoku Earthquake and Tsunami.

In 2013, KU launched “The 2x by 2020 Initiative” as its new international strategy, and NTU was selected as one of its key partner universities in Asia. In the same year, KU visited NTU and expressed its willingness to encourage bilateral cooperation. In December 2013, the first joint NTU and KU symposium was held in Taipei. CBA-NTU was responsible for planning the agriculture-related sessions, and received the delegation headed by the then-Dean of GASKU, Prof. Hisashi Miyagawa (宮川 恒). In September 2014, the then-Dean Yuan-Tay Shyu (徐源泰) of CBA-NTU led faculty members to attend the second joint symposium held at Kyoto, and discussed potential cooperation schemes.

For many years, the two colleges have established a strong bond and friendship via frequent faculty visits, close research collaborations, student exchange programs, and the “Shi-Hon Scholarship Program for Master’s Students.” To deepen exchanges and establish sustainable cooperative relations between the two colleges, the Center for International Agricultural Education and Academic Exchanges (CIAEAE) of CBA-NTU and the International Exchange Section Office of GSAKU had engaged in multiple discussions and finally reached a consensus on the details of the Master’s Double Degree Program. The agreement was signed on March 28, 2018 by the two Deans. We look forward to seeing this program expand students’ international outlook, promote academic cooperation and exchanges between the two colleges, and most importantly maintain the “KIZUNA” (The Bonds of Friendship) between both parties.

  • NTU and KU collaborated in establishing a Master’s Double Degree Program.

    NTU and KU collaborated in establishing a Master’s Double Degree Program.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

焦點新聞

更新日期:107年5月8日

建立跨國碩士雙聯學位學制 臺灣大學與京都大學學術亮點合作計劃啟動

臺灣大學生物資源暨農學院與日本京都大學學術交流邁進一大步!臺大生物資源暨農學院院長盧虎生,於今年三月底率團到日本京都大學,並與該校農學院院長繩田榮治(NAWATA, Eiji)共同簽署跨國碩士班雙聯學位計畫(double degree program)協議書並討論相關合作事宜。

這項學術合作規定,兩院的學生只要符合該學制的相關要求,畢業時即可同時取得臺日兩所頂尖大學的碩士學位,該協議書不僅是兩院友誼的重要里程碑,也是這幾年來雙方密切交流的成果。

2012年,當時的京大農學院院長遠藤隆(ENDO, Takashi)教授應邀來臺參加由臺大生農學院主辦的國際農學院院長會議時,特別感謝臺灣在前一年(2011年)日本東北311大地震時的慷慨援助,也對生農學院的盛情接待與會議議程留下深刻印象。2013年京都大學提出了新的國際化政策---“The 2x by 2020 Initiative”,要積極與國外知名大學交流合作,選定臺灣大學為該校在亞洲的重點合作對象。

同年4月京大校方拜訪臺大,希望促成兩校全面的交流與合作,雙方遂於同年12月在臺大舉辦第一屆兩校聯合研討會,由生農學院負責農業相關領域的議程並接待宮川恒(MIYAGAWA, Hisashi) 院長所率領的京大農學院訪問團。2014年9月在京都大學舉辦了「第二屆京大-臺大研討會」,由當時生農學院院長徐源泰教授帶領院內多位教師前往發表論文與交流討論。

多年來因兩院教師間密切的互訪與研究合作、交換學生、短期研究計畫或是由生農學院與校外獎學金機構、京都大學共同推動的「思鴻獎學金碩士生推薦計畫」等,雙方建立了相當程度的信賴與情誼。為進一步深化兩院師生間的交流以及建立長期穩定合作關係,生農學院國際農業教育與學術交流中心(國農中心)與京大農學院國際交流室歷經了多次的討論,達成碩士班雙學位學制的各項細節與實施辦法的共識,2018年3月28日由兩院院長簽署協議書。期待跨國雙學位學制不僅能拓展學生的國際視野,促進兩院各系所間的學術合作交流,更重要的是維繫雙方的「絆KIZUNA同心共感的親情或友情」。

  • 建立跨國碩士雙聯學位學制 臺灣大學與京都大學學術亮點合作計劃啟動

    建立跨國碩士雙聯學位學制 臺灣大學與京都大學學術亮點合作計劃啟動

當期焦點

facebook twitter google+ plurk 轉寄好友 友善列印
回到頂端