News

Spotlight

Date: 2018/6/9

NTU Listed in the 51-60 Band in THE’s World Reputation Rankings 2018

Times Higher Education (THE) released its World Reputation Rankings 2018 on May 30. The same as in 2017, NTU has been ranked in the 51-60 band this year, making it the only Taiwanese university to appear in the rankings.

The questionnaire survey for the rankings was conducted by Elsevier on behalf of THE. From January to March in 2018, Elsevier distributed questionnaires in 15 languages to 10,162 senior scholars in 138 countries who have had over 15 years of experience in higher education and research. Valid responses from the field of engineering and technology were the largest in number (18.1%), followed by those from physical sciences (15.6%), clinical, pre-clinical, and health (13.2%), life sciences (12.8%), computer science (10.4%), business and economics (9%), social sciences (7.6%), arts and humanities (7.5%), education (2.5%), psychology (2.3%), and law (1%).

Of the retrieved questionnaires, 22%, 32%, 26%, 11%, 5%, 2%, and 2% were from North America, the Asia-Pacific region, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, and Africa, respectively. According to THE, positive ratings for the top 100 universities in Asia were mostly derived from domestic respondents or respondents in neighboring countries. For example, 80% of the positive ratings for the University of Tokyo were from Asia, whereas fewer than half of the positive ratings for Euro-American universities were given by domestic respondents.

Universities worldwide are evaluated for research and teaching in the World Reputation Rankings. Specifically, the score of research is weighted twice that of teaching in the total score because respondents are expected to be more objective when rating a university’s research quality and reputation.

Asian universities ranked in the World Reputation Rankings 2015-2018:

Asian universities ranked in the World Reputation Rankings 2015-2018
Asian universities ranked in the World Reputation Rankings 2015-2018

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

焦點新聞

更新日期:107年6月9日

Times Higher Education 2018年排名NTU 51-60名

英國泰晤士報高等教育增刊(Times Higher Education, 簡稱THE)5月30日公布2018年高等教育世界大學聲望排名,本校獲評第51-60名層級,與去(2017)年持平,是臺灣唯一進榜的大學。

本次排名問卷係Elsevier代表THE執行,於2018年1月至3月間以15種語言、由全球138個國家10,162名資深學者填寫學術意見問卷調查,其高等教育及研究資歷平均皆高於15年。有效問卷以工程領域佔18.1%為最多,自然科學領域佔15.6%,醫藥衛生領域佔13.2%,生命科學領域佔12.8%,資訊領域佔10.4%,商管經濟佔9%,社會科學領域佔7.6%,人文領域佔7.5%,教育領域佔2.5%,心理學領域佔2.3%,法律領域佔1%。

另外,本次有22%問卷來自於北美,32%問卷來自於亞太地區,26%為西歐填答者,11%來自東歐,5%來自於拉丁美洲,2%問卷來自於中東地區,2%來自非洲地區。依據THE分析,前一百名亞洲大學問卷調查之佳評絕大多數來自於該國國內及鄰近地區,例如東京大學所收獲佳評的80%來自於亞洲,而歐美國家大學獲得之佳評則低於一半來自於該國國內受訪者。

各大學聲譽評比項目為「研究」及「教學」兩項,兩者佔總分比重為2:1,「研究」權重較高的原因係考量填答者對於研究品質聲譽的評價較為客觀。亞洲地區進榜情形如圖顯示:

亞洲地區進榜情形
  • Times Higher Education 2018年排名NTU 51-60名

    Times Higher Education 2018年排名NTU 51-60名

當期焦點

facebook twitter google+ plurk 轉寄好友 友善列印
回到頂端