Spotlight

Date: 2019/1/15

From TIU to NTU: Exhibition on the Early Years of the University

The Gallery of NTU History launched a special exhibition on “The Early Years of National Taiwan University: Exceptional Commencement” to celebrate NTU’s 90th anniversary on November 15, 2018. The exhibition will run until September 30, 2019.

A regular exhibition about the milestones of NTU since its establishment as Taihoku Imperial University (TIU) in 1928 has been on display at the Gallery of NTU History. This anniversary exhibition, however, focuses on detailing the previously ambiguous school history ranging from TIU’s founding under Japanese rule to its reinstitution as NTU in the early retrocession period.

The exhibition traces the foundation and history of TIU, exploring its preparation and establishment 90 years ago. The TIU exhibition area introduces to the public the Taiwanese and Japanese perspectives about establishing a university in Taiwan back in the 1920s, the three key figures in facilitating TIU’s establishment (i.e., Takio Izawa, Taira Shidehara, and Kintaro Ooshima), where to obtain the resources required (including money, land, and labor), the development of TIU’s academic system after its establishment, TIU’s sources of students, and the first group of NTU-related Taiwanese figures during Japanese rule.

After WWII in 1945, the Nationalist Government sent officials to take over TIU and reinstitute the university as NTU. To familiarize visitors with the early period of NTU, the exhibition details the takeover process conducted under the leadership by President Tsung-Lo Lo (羅宗洛) and the hardships experienced and overcome in the early retrocession period. These include rapid changes of presidency, pivotal contributions made by NTU’s 4th President Ssu-Nien Fu (傅斯年), arrangements for management teams during times of change, and the sources of faculty members and students after most of the Japanese faculty and all the Japanese students were repatriated.

There are also historic artifacts on display at this exhibition, and most of them are early artifacts, documents, and devices donated by academic and administrative units on and off campus to the Gallery of NTU History over the years. These include Ernst Leitz Wetzlar microscopes, teaching aids such as glass panels, munafudas (棟札) left with the Japanese buildings in Taiwan, and the military water bottles and puttees left by students who joined the army during WWII. As these artifacts have been kept in the storage room away from public view, this exhibition provides a rare opportunity for visitors to take a look at these artifacts of historical significance.

Opening Hours: 9:00-17:00, 2018/11/15-2019/9/30 (closed on Tuesdays and National Holidays)
Venue: Chyun-liu Exhibition Hall, Gallery of NTU History
Organizers: NTU Library, Gallery of NTU History, and NTU Museums
Group Tours: Contact Mr. Wu at 886-2-33663817
*Each tour lasts 30-40 min and a reservation is required 5 workdays prior to visit. We only accept groups of 10-25 people from institutions above high school level.

  • Special exhibition on “The Early Years of National Taiwan University: Exceptional Commencement.”

    Special exhibition on “The Early Years of National Taiwan University: Exceptional Commencement.”

  • TIU made academic research possible in Taiwan.

    TIU made academic research possible in Taiwan.

  • Diplomas and student ID cards in early days.

    Diplomas and student ID cards in early days.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

焦點新聞

更新日期:108年1月15日

出類拔粋:國立臺灣大學創校九十年 從帝大到臺大創校特展

校史館川流特展廳於2018年11月15日校慶日正式推出年度大展「出類拔粋:國立臺灣大學創校九十年從帝大到臺大建校特展」。「粋」是「萃」的古字,字形包含「九」與「十」兩字,蘊含創校90週年的寓意。

原來校史館的常設展廳已經展示了從臺北帝大1928年創校以來,至臺大迄今的大事記,而這次的特展,是將日本人創建這所學校以來,至光復初期,改制為臺大時的那段渾沌未明的校史,更加清晰化。

臺北帝大的部分回溯本校創校時期的根基與歷史,探究九十年前臺北帝大的籌備與成立。該區包含1920年代臺灣設立一所大學的臺人日人觀點、推動臺北帝大創校的三位關鍵人物(伊澤多喜男、幣原坦、大島金太郎)、創校所需的錢地人從哪裡來?臺北帝大正式成立後的學術體系發展、臺北帝大學生來源、日治時期與臺大有關的臺灣第一人。

臺大早期,也就是1945年二戰結束後,國民政府派員接收臺北帝國大學,改制為國立臺灣大學的初期。該區內容描繪羅宗洛校長接收過程、呈現光復初期的篳路藍縷,例如變動頻繁的校長、第四任校長傅斯年的建樹、變局下的主管安排、以及當多數的日籍教師及全數的日籍學生遣返回日後,臺大的師資及學生來源等。

另外,這次的展覽也展示了許多老文物,這些大多是校史館經年以來,自校內外學術與行政單位獲捐的早期文物與儀器設備,例如:Ernst Leitz Wetzlar顯微鏡、玻璃板教具、智慧型防閉鎖冷凍庫門、日本建築遺留下的棟札、二戰時期學生投筆從戎的軍用水壺與綁腿。這些古樸的文物原本在我們的庫房不見天日,藉此機會終於可以跟大眾見見面了,歡迎大家有空來校史館走走。

展期:2018/11/15-2019/9/30,9:00-17:00 (週二及國定假日閉館)
地點:國立臺灣大學校史館川流廳
主辦:國立臺灣大學圖書館、校史館、博物館群
團體導覽預約:歡迎電洽(02)33663817,吳先生。每次導覽約30-40分鐘,敬請最遲於參訪前5個工作天申請。*申請限制:10人以上,25人以下。僅接受高中以上團體。

  • 迴聲

    迴聲

  • 讓學術研究在臺灣成為可能-臺北帝大

    讓學術研究在臺灣成為可能-臺北帝大

  • 早期的畢業證書與學生證

    早期的畢業證書與學生證

當期焦點

facebook twitter google+ plurk 轉寄好友 友善列印
回到頂端