News

Spotlight

Date: 2019/2/12

NTU Researchers Use Fidget Spinner as Centrifuge to Separate Blood Plasma

Fidget spinners are flat, multi-lobed toys with a ball bearing at the center. Some people use these spinners to diffuse nervousness and stress. Now, a research team from NTU has found a surprising new use for the toy: separating blood plasma for diagnostic testing. The team is led by Dr. Chien-Fu Chen (陳建甫), an associate professor of the NTU Institute of Applied Mechanics. This new approach, reported in American Chemical Society’s journal Analytical Chemistry, could be useful for medical applications in regions of the world that lack electricity and related resources.

Before doctors can perform blood tests, they must separate blood cells from plasma, a yellowish fluid that contains proteins, bacteria, viruses, metabolites, and other substances that can be used to diagnose diseases. The separation is most often accomplished by centrifugation, which uses high-speed rotation to sediment blood cells. However, centrifuges are expensive and require electricity that might not be available in resource-limited regions. Dr. Chen and his colleagues, including Profs. Chien-Cheng Chang (張建成) and Chin-Chou Chu (朱錦洲), wondered if a commercially available fidget spinner could generate enough force to separate blood plasma with the flick of a finger.

To find out the answer, the researchers placed human blood samples in tiny tubes, sealed the ends, and taped the tubes to each of the three prongs of a fidget spinner. They found that by flicking the spinner with a finger 3-5 times, they could separate about 30% of the plasma with 99% purity in only 4-7 minutes. To verify that the plasma was suitable for diagnostic tests, the researchers spiked the blood samples with a human immunodeficiency virus-1 (HIV-1) protein, separated the plasma with the spinner, and performed a paper-based detection test. This inexpensive, simple method detected clinically relevant concentrations of the viral protein in only a drop of blood.

This study provides an inexpensive, simple, and hand-powered solution to diagnostic testing in underserved or resource-limited regions. The fidget spinner as a portable centrifuge not only ensures satisfying testing quality but will also enhance the development of personalized medicine and infectious disease prevention.

The team would like to acknowledge and appreciate the financial support from the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) and NTU’s Higher Education Sprout Project.

Contact: Chien-Fu Chen
stevechen@ntu.edu.tw

More information:
“Blood Plasma Separation Using a Fidget-Spinner,” Analytical Chemistry
https://bit.ly/BloodSeparation
ACS Headline Science: https://bit.ly/ACSHeadlineScience
ACS News Service Weekly PressPac: https://bit.ly/PressPacACS
AAAS EurekAlert: https://bit.ly/AAASEurekAlert

  • Dr. Chen (first from left) and his team members who have worked on this project.

    Dr. Chen (first from left) and his team members who have worked on this project.

  • Fidget spinners are used as a spinning tool to separate blood plasma for diagnostic tests.

    Fidget spinners are used as a spinning tool to separate blood plasma for diagnostic tests.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

焦點新聞

更新日期:108年2月12日

應力所陳建甫副教授團隊指尖陀螺應用於醫療檢測
榮獲美國化學學會Headline Science影片與PressPac專文報導

應用力學研究所陳建甫副教授主持之研究團隊,開發出指尖陀螺的另一個新用途:從全血中分離出血漿,接著可結合分析試紙,用於資源匱乏區域進行愛滋病診斷。此一微量血液檢測平臺研究成果,發表於美國化學學會”Analytical Chemistry”期刊,並獲選由美國化學學會製作影片發佈於Headline Science科學頻道,同時於其新聞週刊PressPac以及美國科學促進會AAAS發佈專文報導。

扁平、具有多瓣葉片、以滾珠軸承構成旋轉中心的指尖陀螺,用手指輕輕一撥便能快速旋轉,是許多人用來舒緩緊張情緒與壓力的玩具。然而現在,研究者們發現了指尖陀螺的另一項特殊功能––將血漿從全血中分離出,以供後續診斷檢測所用。此新方法在世界上缺乏電力與資源受限之地區對於醫療診斷具有顯著的應用價值。

血漿為一黃色流體,由於其中包含蛋白質、細菌、病毒、代謝物與其他物質,因此可藉由判斷其組成而獲得疾病相關診斷訊息。在醫師進行多種血液檢測之前,將血漿自血液中分離出來係屬必要,因血液中的血球細胞會釋放物質、干擾血漿成分,造成檢測結果不精確,降低靈敏度,進而產生偽陰性及偽陽性的問題。目前最常使用之血球血漿分離方式為離心法,即利用高速旋轉以沉降血球、而得以取出血漿。然而,離心機價格昂貴、且需電力方能運作,因此在於資源有限地區不易廣泛採用。陳建甫所主持之研究團隊,其中包含應力所張建成與朱錦洲兩位老師,轉而思考,是否能利用商業上可輕易取得之指尖陀螺,僅以一根手指的撥動來提供足以分離血漿之力。

其團隊首先將人類血液樣本注入微小塑膠管並封口後,再以膠帶固定於指尖陀螺的各瓣上,發現以一根手指撥動指尖陀螺3至5次,在不需要任何電力情況下,即可成功分離出血漿,且經由分析獲得其純度達99%,並可於4至7分鐘內完成血漿分離,分離結果也可直接由肉眼清楚辨識,整體分離過程所用之材料簡單便宜,並在不須特別訓練之情況下,人人皆能自行操作。此外,該研究進一步確認此分離出之血漿是否能用於實際疾病診斷,研究者將人類免疫缺乏病毒 (human immunodeficiency virus-1;HIV-1) 之衣膜蛋白p24摻入血液樣本中,在使用指尖陀螺分離出血漿後,結合分析紙張進行愛滋病檢測。結果顯示此便宜、簡單之愛滋病偵測平臺,僅僅利用一滴血,便獲得可用於臨床檢測之測試結果。

此研究整體系統具有便宜、簡單、不需電力驅動之優勢,且仍能保有一定之檢測效果,不僅為可攜式檢測平臺帶來新想法,相信能為資源有限地區的定點照護醫療有所利用與貢獻,也能促進個人化醫療以及傳染病防治之發展。

本研究團隊感謝科技部,以及臺灣大學高教深耕計畫之經費支持。

  • 陳建甫副教授團隊

    陳建甫副教授團隊

  • 研究成果圖

    研究成果圖

當期焦點

facebook twitter google+ plurk 轉寄好友 友善列印
回到頂端