Spotlight

Date: 2017/10/2

15th Interdisciplinary Seminar at the College of Liberal Arts

The 15th NTU Interdisciplinary Seminar was held by the College of Liberal Arts on September 13, 2017. The seminar was opened by then Interim President Ching-Ray Chang (張慶瑞; currently Executive Vice President for Administrative Affairs), Executive Vice President for Academics and Research Tei-Wei Kuo (郭大維; who currently also serves as NTU Interim President), and Dean of the College of Liberal Arts Mu-Hsuan Huang (黃慕萱). Professors of the college, including Shuo-Bin Su (蘇碩斌), Chia-Lin Lee (李佳霖), and Fu-Chang Hsu (徐富昌), were invited to present on their research.

Prof. Shuo-Bin Su from the Graduate Institute of Taiwan Literature delivered a speech titled “Modern Taiwan's Urban Planning, Bookstores, and Literary Experience." He traced the founding history of Chung-Chin South Road (重慶南路), Taiwan’s most famous “Book Street,” from the reopening of Niitakado Bookstore (新高堂書店) in 1915. He argued that modern urban planning in the colonial age brought Taipei a brand new city with spatial and thinking flow—which helped foster new bookstores and citizen’s “literary sensibility.”

Dr. Chia-Lin Lee from the Graduate Institute of Linguistics presented recent findings from her lab. Titled “Altered Network Architecture of Language Processing in Aging,” her presentation showed findings from her lab, where Dr. Lee and her colleagues capitalized on the strength of the Event-Related Potential (ERP) technique for language research. In particular, the lab team found that the right hemisphere (RH) is capable of processing syntactic information in a manner qualitatively similar to that of the left hemisphere (LH). These LH-equivalent language capabilities in the RH become more observable in such circumstances as health aging when the inhibition from the LH is weaker. Follow-up studies from her lab will investigate the interdependent relation and coordination between the two hemispheres with a focus on how the RH can support the LH, the language dominant brain, when the LH deteriorates or is injured.

Prof. Fu-Chang Hsu from the Department of Chinese Literature presented on the unearthed literature of mathematics in ancient China. In his presentation, “The Ancient Science in the Unearthed Literature surrounding the Tsinghua Bamboo-Slip Suanbiao (Calculation Table),” Prof. Hsu highlighted the historical importance of the Tsinghua Bamboo-Slip Suanbiao, which is the earliest known decimal multiplication table, and compared it with the other ancient Chinese multiplication tables and mathematical classics to illustrate the developed studies of theoretical and practical mathematics in China during the Warring States period. Prof. Hsu also introduced other ancient Chinese mathematical literature on arithmetic and problem solving, including Suan shu shu (Writings on Numbers and Computations) from Zhangjiashan, Yuelu Academy’s Qin bamboo-slip Shu (Numbers and Reckoning), and Peking University’s Qin bamboo-slip Suan shu shu (Writings on Numbers and Computations). Prof. Hsu then indicated that these literature may afford valuable implications and information of ancient China in textual, mathematical, and socioeconomic terms.

The three speeches drew lively and enthusiastic discussions among the attending faculty members. Despite the rainy and windy weather on that day, the seminar proceeded smoothly under the coordination of the College of Liberal Arts, providing a platform for interdisciplinary exchanges on campus.

  • Attendees at the interdisciplinary seminar.

    Attendees at the interdisciplinary seminar.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:106年10月2日

跨領域學術交流會:文學院

文學院於106年9月13日舉行「國立臺灣大學第15次跨領域交流會」,本次交流會分為演講及餐會,首先由張慶瑞代理校長、郭大維學術副校長及黃慕萱院長致開幕辭,為此次交流會揭開序幕。演講由臺灣文學研究所蘇碩斌教授、語言學研究所李佳霖助理教授及中國文學系徐富昌教授分別就自身研究進行演說。

蘇碩斌教授以「現代台灣的都市計畫、新式書店與文學感受」為題,從戰後重慶南路書店街追溯,指出1915年臺北「新高堂書店新大樓開幕」的時空意義。他結合空間理論、書籍史學、文學研究的觀點,論證殖民政體的「現代都市計畫」為臺灣帶來空間流動,同時落實到「新式書店」的思想流動,再滲透到常民世界的「文學感受」之歷史過程。

李佳霖助理教授講題為「老化與左右腦語言處理網絡結構的改變」,報告近期研究成果。利用腦電波在語言研究上的優勢,她及合作者發現右腦有潛力進行與左腦同類型的文法處理,而這些處理在某些情況下(包括老化)會因左腦的抑制減少而彰顯出來。後續研究會進一步探討左右腦的連動以及協作關係,以及語言優勢腦衰退或損傷時右腦可提供的支援。

徐富昌教授講題為「藏在出土文獻中的古老科學:從清華簡《算表》談起」,從二方面論述。其一,從清華大學收藏的戰國竹簡《算表》的發現,結合其他出土文獻中的九九術、九九乘法表,如漢簡九九乘法表、敦煌算經九九表、張家界漢簡九九乘法表、里耶秦簡九九乘法表等,並與傳世的《周髀算經》、《九章算術》、《算經十書》等,簡要比較並說明在戰國時代已經建立了發達的理論數學和實用數學。同時也指出《算表》填補了先秦數學文獻的空白,是目前所見到最早的數學文獻實物,比既有的古代十進位乘法表年代都早,是中國數學史乃至世界數學史上的一項重大發現。其二,透過張家界漢簡《筭數書》、嶽麓書院藏秦簡《數》、北京大學藏秦簡《算數書》等有關算數、數學問題集(例題彙編)、數學計算方法等出土文獻進行報告,並指出《數》、《算數書》這類材料值得研究的三個面向:一是文本的研究,可比較《數》與《算數書》的一些異同;二是所含數學方法的研究,如勾股算題實例、幾何學成就、比重觀念和容積計量、數學內容,數學表達方式等問題的研究;三是所含社會經濟、生產生活、法律、軍事等訊息的研究。

三位講者演說後皆與與會的師長們熱情地討論,演講活動後並與所有與會人及工作人員留影合照,接著前往本院大廳參與交流餐會。本次交流會雖遇上颱風攪局,在文學院縝密的規劃下,活動順利圓滿舉行,達到跨領域學術交流的目的。

  • 全體大合照

    全體大合照

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端