Spotlight

Date: 2019/4/9

NTU Announces AI-SWAS (Smart Wound Assessment System) for Tracking the Conditions of Postoperative Wound

The National Taiwan University (NTU) and the National Taiwan University Hospital (NTUH) have jointly developed the "Smart Wound Assessment System" (AI-SWAS), aiming at tracking the conditions of postoperative wounds, detecting abnormalities in time, and providing timely recommendations. The System, built on an artificial intelligence (AI) platform and through a mobile phone app, automatically interprets the conditions of postoperative wounds and provides professional advice to patients. Physicians can also monitor the wound healing process via the app after patients return home.

AI-SWAS Automatically Interprets the Conditions of Postoperative Wounds and Provides Professional Advice

AI-SWAS uses AI algorithms to analyze data on wounds and to detect erythema, inflammation, necrosis, and infection. In the current experiment, it is 90% accurate in assessing the condition of a wound as normal or abnormal, and 91% accurate in assessing the condition of a wound showing signs of erythema, inflammation, necrosis, and infection.

The new generation of postoperative wound tracking system has incorporated a software that interprets images of wounds automatically. In this study, 131 images of wounds from 46 patients were taken. Images of wounds were collected every day after surgery, as the database to train artificial intelligence to differentiate conditions of wounds. The AI-SWAS platform also includes a software for adjusting brightness and colors of images that patients have uploaded, which removes factors that may lead to misinterpretation. It has successfully excluded tattoos on the skin from images of wounds.

Physicians Monitor the Wound Healing Process After Patients Return Home via AI-SWAS App

Through the AI-SWAS mobile phone app, patients record the conditions of postoperative wounds at home using mobile phones, and upload postoperative wound images to the AI-SWAS platform periodically. The AI-SWAS platform informs physicians to review images via text messages, and send advice for wound management back to patients via AI-SWAS APP. Patients can view the postoperative wound images as well as advice for wound management (such as patient education materials) via the AI-SWAS APP.

AI-SWAS automatically interprets images of wounds based on their colors, in order to assess whether wounds are slowly healing and returning to their original healthy state. If other conditions occur, such as inflammation, the color of the wound changes, and AI-SWAS will provide recommendations after interpreting the image, akin to a second opinion from another healthcare professional, significantly reducing the time medical staff spend on interpretation. Patients receive timely advice for wound management, establish a channel for communication with attending physicians, and save the time spent on traveling to and from hospitals. Medical staff have a convenient means for telemonitoring that reduces their workload.

The AI-SWAS APP developed by NTU is designed on the Android platform, for installation on mobile phones and tablets using the Android operating system. App designed on the iOS platform is currently in progress. The NTUH plans to expand the application of AI-SWAS to manage all types of wounds (non-surgical wounds) in the coming year.

  • AI-SWAS Smart Healthcare Team at the National Taiwan University Hospital.

    AI-SWAS Smart Healthcare Team at the National Taiwan University Hospital.

  • AI-SWAS differentiates 4 conditions of a wound: erythema, inflammation, necrosis, and infection.

    AI-SWAS differentiates 4 conditions of a wound: erythema, inflammation, necrosis, and infection.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:108年4月9日

臺大AI-SWAS智慧術後傷口追蹤系統成果發表

為了追蹤術後傷口,及時偵測傷口異常狀況,與即時提供建議,臺灣大學與臺大醫院共同開發「智慧術後傷口追蹤系統(AI-SWAS)」技術,建立人工智慧(AI)平台與手機App,兼具遠距醫療與專家意見二項功能,可自動判讀術後傷口,提供專家意見,醫師透過APP能掌握病人回家後之傷口癒合過程。

AI-SWAS平台自動判讀術後傷口 提供專家意見

AI-SWAS平台,利用人工智慧(AI)演算法,針對傷口進行分析,可以偵測術後傷口紅、腫、壞死及感染的狀況。目前在傷口狀態(正常,不正常)的試驗中,得到了90%的準確度,至於傷口症狀(腫,壞死,出血,膿)的實驗中,則得到了91%的準確度。

新一代的智慧術後傷口追蹤系統,在傷口照片的判讀部份,已經進入軟體自動判讀。本研究共針對46位病人拍攝了131張傷口影像資料,首先收集手術後每一天傷口的圖片做為資料庫,讓人工智慧學習辨別;AI-SWAS平台還包括修正病患上傳照片的編修軟體,修正明暗、顏色等問題,減少誤判的因素,已經可以做到順利剃除皮膚上刺青被視為傷口的成就。

透過AI-SWAS App 醫師能掌握病人回家後之傷口癒合過程

透過臺大AI-SWAS手機App,病患在家裡就可以使用手機紀錄自己的術後傷口狀況,在固定時間上傳術後傷口照片到AI-SWAS平台,AI平台會以簡訊通知醫師審視照片,並透過AI-SWAS APP回傳處置建議給病患,病患在AI-SWAS APP上可以看到術後傷口照片與處置建議,例如衛教指引等。

藉由傷口自動判讀,從傷口的顏色來判斷傷口是否慢慢癒合,朝向康復的方向發展,如果有發炎等情況,傷口的顏色會產生變化,AI-SWAS平台自動判讀,可以提供類似專家的第二意見,大幅減少醫護人員人工判讀的時間。病人則獲得類似專家的第二意見,並且與他的主治醫師醫師建立溝通管道,讓病人及時獲得適當處置建議,也讓醫護人員以更便捷方式進行遠端照護,節省病患往返與醫護工作量。

這套臺大AI-SWAS APP系統僅設計在 android 的平台上,目前正在進行 iOS 平台的計畫,Android 系統的手機或平板電腦都可以安裝App,臺大醫院計畫在未來一年,將這套系統的運用範圍擴大到各類傷口(非手術傷口)的照護。

  • 臺大醫院AI_SWAS智慧醫療團隊

    臺大醫院AI_SWAS智慧醫療團隊

  • AI_SWAS可以判斷紅腫熱壞死感染4種傷口狀態

    AI_SWAS可以判斷紅腫熱壞死感染4種傷口狀態

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端