News

Spotlight

Date: 2020/6/22

NTU Professor Co-Authors International Guidelines for Research on EMT

Epithelial–mesenchymal transition (EMT) is a crucial mechanism during early embryo development, encompassing dynamic changes in cellular organization from epithelial (E) to mesenchymal (M) phenotypes, leading to functional changes in cell migration and invasion, driven by an evolutionary conserved set of inducing signals, transcriptional regulators, and downstream effectors. EMT has been demonstrated to occur in a diverse range of physiological and pathological conditions such as tissue regeneration, tissue fibrosis, and cancer metastasis. Over the past 20 years, the EMT research field has grown exponentially. In 2019 alone, over 5,700 publications have been indexed by the Web of Science. This growing interest warrants the need for a consensus among researchers undertaking research on EMT.

The EMT International Association (TEMTIA), the official academic society for the EMT field, was established in 2003. During the 2017 biannual meeting held in Houston Texas, many EMT scholars started the idea to provide the international EMT field with clear guidelines for EMT research. After a 2-year-long discussion, the “Guidelines and Definitions for Research on Epithelial–Mesenchymal Transition” was published in April 2020 in the journal Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology. Prof. Ruby Yun-Ju Huang (黃韻如) of NTU’s School of Medicine was the only Taiwanese scholar among the contributing co-authors.

The guidelines recommend the following:

  1. EMT status cannot be assessed on the basis of one or a small number of molecular markers;
  2. The primary criteria for defining EMT status should be changes in cellular properties together with a set of molecular markers, rather than relying solely on molecular markers;
  3. EMT driving transcription factors and other molecular markers are valuable indicators of EMT, but they should be assessed in conjunction with changes in cellular characteristics to define EMT;
  4. Finding reliable EMT markers requires a combinatorial approach, as well as distinguishing between EMT-associated and non-EMT-associated functions.

The guidelines further emphasize a new concept, epithelial–mesenchymal plasticity (EMP), to describe the ability of cells to adopt mixed E/M features and to interconvert between intermediate E/M phenotypic states arrayed along the epithelial–mesenchymal spectrum. Prof. Huang has long been dedicated to the research of this intermediate E/M state. She defined the early events of EMT in 2012 (doi: 10.1242/jcs.099697), and in 2013 proposed the paradigm shift of the EMT concept from binary to a continuous spectrum (doi: 10.1038/cddis.2013.442). In 2014, by using big data analysis of 13,000+ cancer gene expression profiles, her group pioneered in establishing EMT signatures and defining the EMT scoring (doi: 10.15252/emmm.201404208). In 2019, her team proposed a mechanism to explain the ability to interconvert between intermediate E/M phenotypes involving the interplay of an epithelial transcription factor GRHL2 and epigenetic modifiers in CpG methylation and nucleosomal remodeling of epithelial genes (doi: 10.1038/s42003-019-0506-3).

To learn more about the EMT mechanism, please refer to NTU Speech for Prof. Ruby Yun-Ju Huang’s lecture: http://speech.ntu.edu.tw/ntuspeech/Video/id-2844.

Prof. Ruby Yun-Ju Huang is under the support of the Yushan (Young) Scholar Program, a talent recruitment initiative of the Ministry of Education, Taiwan. Her interview for the Yushan Project can be found: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MSgQCbDwxQE; her EMPreSS Lab at NTU: http://rubyemtspectrum.cm.ntu.edu.tw/web/home.

  • A schematic model illustrating the epigenetic regulation of epithelial genes in the repressed poised or active state during EMT and MET involving intermediate phenotype changes.

    A schematic model illustrating the epigenetic regulation of epithelial genes in the repressed poised or active state during EMT and MET involving intermediate phenotype changes.

  • EMT diversity is represented by an EMP model with the accumulated loss or gain of E/M characteristics pushing a cell towards various intermediate states.

    EMT diversity is represented by an EMP model with the accumulated loss or gain of E/M characteristics pushing a cell towards various intermediate states.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:109年6月22日

臺大學術卓越系列報導 - 醫學院 醫學系黃韻如教授共同制定國際EMT的研究指引

上皮-間質轉化(EMT)是在胚胎早期發育過程中的一個重要機制, 涵蓋了細胞從上皮到間質表現型的轉換過程中所表現出的細胞組織動態變化,並由一組在演化路徑上保守的誘導信號(inducing signals),轉錄調節因子(transcription regulator),和下游效應因子(downstream effectors)所驅動,從而導致細胞在移行和侵襲的功能性變化。EMT這個機制也已被證實能發生在各種生理和病理狀況下,其中包括組織的修復、纖維化或是癌症的轉移。在過去的20年中,EMT研究領域迅速發展,相關的國際研究論文也呈現指數性的增長。僅在2019年,Web of Science就索引了5700多篇學術論文。這種日益增長的興趣,使得國際間的研究人員在開展以及描述EMT研究時需要就EMT的本質達成共識。

國際EMT學會 ‘The EMT International Association (TEMTIA)’,於2003年成立,每兩年進行一次國際雙年會,主要成員在2017美國休士頓年會中發想,欲提供國際間的研究人員有關EMT研究的定義和指南。經過長達兩年的討論修訂,這一份指南已在2020年四月,刊登於Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology (https://www.nature.com/articles/s41580-020-0237-9#Sec20 )。臺大醫學系黃韻如教授是共同作者中,唯一來自臺灣的學者。

本指南對於國際EMT的研究提出以下建議:

  1. 無法單純根據一種或少數的分子標記來評估EMT狀態;
  2. 定義EMT狀態的主要標準應該是根據細胞特性與一組分子標記的共同變化,而不是僅僅依靠分子標記;
  3. EMT的轉錄因子和其他分子標記物在表現上的改變是EMT的重要指標,但應結合細胞特徵的變化以進行評估;
  4. 尋找可靠的EMT標記物需要組合多種方法,並且要區分與EMT相關的功能和與非EMT相關的功能。

本指南更強化一個新的概念,建議使用“上皮-間質可塑性”(Epithelial-Mesenchymal Plasticity, EMP)這個名詞,來描述細胞採用混合上皮及間質(E/M)的功能,以及在沿著上皮-間質光譜排列的中間E/M表現型狀態之間相互轉換的能力。這個中間表現型狀態的現象,黃韻如教授已著墨多年,她在2012年提出對於EMT早期機轉的定義(doi: 10.1242/jcs.099697),進而在2013年利用卵巢癌細胞將EMT 從二元論推往光譜論(doi: 10.1038/cddis.2013.442),更進一步在2014年利用大數據分析一萬多筆癌症組織基因表現資料,建立 EMT 基因標誌 (EMT Signature),用於精準測量每一個腫瘤樣本在負一到正一落點之間的 EMT 分數 (EMT Score),預測病患預後(doi: 10.15252/emmm.201404208) 。於2019年,她的團隊更針對中間狀態之間相互轉換的能力提出解釋的機制,是透過一個上皮轉錄因子GRHL2和表觀遺傳修飾的相互作用,在上皮基因進行CpG甲基化和核小體(nucleosome)的重塑 (doi: 10.1038/s42003-019-0506-3)。

對於EMT機制的更進一步了解,可上臺大演講網,聆聽黃韻如教授的演講錄影:http://speech.ntu.edu.tw/ntuspeech/Video/id-2844。黃韻如教授經由教育部支持的玉山青年學者計劃回到臺灣大學擔任專任教授,關於她的玉山計畫訪談,可參考: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MSgQCbDwxQE。她在臺大的實驗室EMPreSS Lab: http://rubyemtspectrum.cm.ntu.edu.tw/web/home

  • A schematic model illustrating the epigenetic regulation of epithelial genes in the repressed poised or active state during EMT and MET involving intermediate phenotype changes.

    A schematic model illustrating the epigenetic regulation of epithelial genes in the repressed poised or active state during EMT and MET involving intermediate phenotype changes.

  • EMT diversity is represented by an epithelial mesenchymal plasticity model with the accumulated loss or gain of epithelial mesenchymal characteristics pushing a cell towards various intermediate states

    EMT diversity is represented by an epithelial mesenchymal plasticity model with the accumulated loss or gain of epithelial mesenchymal characteristics pushing a cell towards various intermediate states

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端