News

Spotlight

Date: 2022/3/23

Research Team led by Prof. Chun-Liang Pan at Institute of Molecular Medicine Discovers Mechanisms of Memory and Learning Mechanisms under Cellular Stress

The cognitive and behavioral functions of organisms change with different physiological conditions. Such behavioral plasticity induced by an organism’s internal states can be found in nature everywhere, and it is one of the most fundamental phenomena in behavioral and cognitive neuroscience. When the tissues and organs of an organism are functionally impaired, the resulting cellular stress will also lead to changes in behaviors, thereby enabling the organism to stay away from threats and hazards and improve its chances of survival in an unfavorable environment. The research team led by Prof. Chun-Liang Pan of the Institute of Molecular Medicine found that when nematodes are confronted with cellular stress, they can induce memory and learning behaviors via serotonergic circuits. Their paper publishing these findings can be found in a recent issue of the well-known U.S. scientific journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS).

The nervous system of the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans comprises only 302 neurons, yet it is one of the most important model systems in modern neuroscience research due to the availability of advanced research tools in molecular biology and the fact that our understanding of the anatomical structure of the nematode’s nervous system has reached the resolution at the electron microscopic level, on top of the creature’s diverse behaviors. By inhibiting mitochondrial respiration to generate intracellular stress, Prof. Pan’s team induced the nematodes to connect the “harmless bacterial odor” with “cellular pressure”, both occurring at the same time, causing the nematodes to exhibit avoidance behaviors towards bacteria, a pattern comparable to that of classical conditioning. A type of aversive learning crucial to an organism’s survival in nature, this learning behavior is also similar to what the proverb “once bitten, twice shy” conveys: being bitten by a snake causes the victim to become fearful of any object that resembles a snake. Prof. Pan's team further discovered that the NSM neurons of C. elegans increase the synthesis and secretion of serotonin in its initial exposure to stress, which is related to the formation of memory. The serotonin released by NSM binds to SER-4 serotonin receptors on the RIB interneurons, giving RIB the ability to evoke memory. This type of circuit mechanism, which is controlled by different nerve cells for various aspects of memory, can be compared to the memory mechanism in mammals. It is worth noting that due to the tiny size of C. elegans, Prof. Pan's team placed the nematodes into microfluidic chambers and employed high-sensitivity calcium imaging to capture fluorescent images of the responses of the nematodes’ nerve cells to bacterial odors. The results indicate that mitochondrial stress causes novel responses of NSM and RIB neurons to bacterial cues, which suggests that memory and behavioral plasticity result from changes in neuronal activity.

This study was carried out principally by Yueh-Chen Chiang, a graduate of the Institute of Molecular Medicine’s Master’s program. Ms. Chiang stayed on as research assistant at the laboratory after graduating in 2020 and proceeded to complete the entire project. She eventually submitted the research paper for publication and carried out the additional experiments required by the journal reviewers within a span of three months. Ms. Chiang is slated to commence her doctoral studies in the U.S. at Johns Hopkins University. In addition, Dr. Chien-Po Liao, currently a postdoctoral researcher at Columbia University, was a Ph.D. student at the Institute who first carried out research on nematode behavior at Prof. Pan’s laboratory, and he is also credited as a co-author of this paper. The authors acknowledge the Ministry of Science and Technology and the Center for Precision Medicine for their financial support.

  • Image 2042_20220323_1

    Prof. Chun-Liang Pan & His Team Discover Mechanisms of Memory and Learning under Cellular Stress.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:111年3月23日

分子醫學研究所潘俊良教授團隊發現記憶與學習的相關機制

生物體的認知與行為功能隨著生理條件不同而改變,此種由內在狀態(internal state)所誘發的行為可塑性廣泛存在自然界中,這是行為與認知神經科學最基礎的現象之一。當組織器官的功能受損,產生細胞壓力時,也會導致生物行為的改變,藉此在不利的環境下趨吉避凶,提升存活的機會。本校分子醫學研究所潘俊良教授實驗室發現,當線蟲面臨細胞壓力時,會透過血清素(serotonin)的神經迴路誘發記憶與學習行為,相關論文已刊登於知名期刊《美國國家科學院院刊》PNAS

線蟲的神經元數量僅有302個,但由於分子生物學工具的先進,以及對其神經系統構造的解析已達電子顯微鏡的層次,加上其多樣化的行為,是現代神經科學研究最重要的模式系統之一。潘俊良教授實驗室透過抑制粒線體的呼吸作用產生細胞內部壓力誘導線蟲,將同時出現的「無害細菌氣味」與「細胞壓力」連結而進行制約學習,使線蟲對細菌產生躲避行為,與古典制約學習的模式有近似之處。此種學習近似「一朝被蛇咬,十年怕井繩」:被蛇咬讓受害者連帶對外觀與蛇相似的物品都產生恐懼記憶,這種負向學習與記憶的功能對生物體在自然界存活非常重要。潘教授實驗室進一步發現,線蟲的NSM神經元在壓力的早期即增加血清素的合成與分泌,並與記憶的形成有關。由NSM所釋放的血清素與RIB中間神經元上的SER-4血清素受體結合,使RIB具有喚起記憶的功能。此種由不同神經細胞控制記憶不同層面的迴路機制,與哺乳類的記憶機轉有共通之處。值得一提的是,由於線蟲體積甚小,因此潘教授團隊將線蟲放入微流體通道中,以高靈敏度的鈣離子螢光攝影,捕捉線蟲神經細胞對細菌氣味的反應,發現粒線體壓力使NSM及RIB神經元對細菌氣味產生全新的反應,暗示記憶與行為可塑性來自於神經細胞活性的改變。

本研究主要由碩士班研究生江玥蓁同學完成,江同學於2020年碩士班畢業後留任研究助理,完成整個計畫,將論文投稿,並在三個月內完成期刊審查所要求的追加實驗,江同學將至美國約翰霍普金斯大學繼續深造博士課程。另外,最早於實驗室開展線蟲行為的相關研究的畢業博士生廖健博,目前在美國哥倫比亞大學進行博士後研究,也是本論文的共同作者。本研究由科技部及精準醫學中心研究經費支持,特此致謝。

潘俊良教授實驗室:https://chunliangpan.weebly.com/
分子醫學研究所:http://molecular.ntu.edu.tw/
論文全文網址:https://www.pnas.org/doi/10.1073/pnas.2115533119?fbclid=IwAR0cuGgLeoDPQPnODXzcw18n3IQQqyt0wB_zW_d1wDP3o7elUqTd5hErVi8

  • 圖1

    分子醫學研究所潘俊良教授團隊發現記憶與學習的相關機制

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端