News

Spotlight

Date: 2022/6/22

Dr. Ru-Shi Liu Found the Evolution of Phosphor Materials and Their Application in Light-Emitting Diodes, Findings Published in Chemical Reviews

In recent years, the technology related to light-emitting diodes (LEDs) has attracted worldwide attention. As a key light conversion material in LED devices, phosphor materials have an irreplaceable position in the development of LED components. In the past few decades, the requirements for phosphor materials have become more and more stringent, from the initial pursuit of high brightness to narrow-band emission, and even spectral regulation engineering to meet different functions. Although substantial progress has been made in the development of phosphor materials, it is still very challenging to meet all the requirements of high-end applications at the same time. Therefore, understanding the principles of past phosphor design is an important cornerstone for the development of novel phosphor materials.

Recently, the team of Distinguished Professor Ru-Shi Liu from the Department of Chemistry published a review on the evolution of phosphor materials and their applications in light-emitting diodes, in order to clarify the development history of phosphors, the design principles, and the future of phosphor crystal structures.

At first, the development goal of LED was to realize the most basic needs of human life: a high-efficiency white light-emitting light source. Therefore, the development goal of the first generation phosphor is to achieve high brightness and high efficiency. After the basic high-brightness requirement is fulfilled, human needs have increased to a better LED light source, that is, an LED light source that can more accurately display the true color of the illuminated object. After meeting the lighting needs, human beings pursue a better quality of life, including high-quality video systems, that is, human requirements for LED displays (backlight devices) have also increased. To achieve this goal, in addition to the above-mentioned requirements for phosphors, the requirements for narrow-band emission must be added. With the control of crystal structure, research and development of narrow-band emission phosphor materials.

This review provides a complete introduction to the development of phosphors in the past and expounds on the key mechanisms of phosphor research and development, which will help the research and development of novel phosphors in the future.

The results of this research were published in Chemical Reviews on May 22, 2022: https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.chemrev.1c00952 (Impact Factor 2020: 60.622)

  • Image 2074_20220622_1

    A schematic diagram of the milestones in the development of phosphor materials. The demand for LED devices starts from basic white light lighting systems and high color rendering lighting systems and develops to high-quality backlight systems and high-end applications.

  • Image 2074_20220622_2

    Encapsulated light-emitting diodes converted from different generations of phosphor materials.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:111年6月22日

臺大化學所劉如熹特聘教授團隊論文:螢光粉材料的演進與其於LED的應用 榮登Chemical Reviews

近年來,發光二極體(light-emitting diodes, LEDs)相關技術被全世界所重視。螢光粉材料作為LED裝置中關鍵的光轉換材料,於開發LED元件具無可取代的地位。過去幾十年,對螢光粉材料的要求變得越加嚴格,由最初僅追求高亮度,至窄譜帶放射,乃至滿足不同功能的光譜調控工程。儘管目前開發的螢光粉材料已取得實質進展,然而,欲同時滿足高階應用的要求仍非常具挑戰性。因此,瞭解過去螢光粉設計的原理,乃為研發新穎螢光粉材料的重要基石。

近日,臺大化學所劉如熹特聘教授團隊以螢光粉材料的演進與其於發光二極體的應用為題發表綜述,以闡明螢光粉的發展歷史、螢光粉晶體結構設計原理與未來展望。此研究以不同世代人類對LED裝置的需求為出發點,針對不同世代的螢光粉進行分類,部分世代螢光粉的發展為解決前一世代材料的缺點,而不同世代的螢光粉則為因應現今新興的高端應用領域所需。

起初,LED的發展目標為實現人類最基本的生活需求:高效率的白光光源。因此初代螢光粉發展目標乃為實現高亮度與高效率。實現基本的高亮度需求後,人類的需求提升至更精準呈現照射物體真實顏色的LED光源,因此,提升演色性的螢光粉相繼被開發。而對螢光粉材料的要求,由原本的高效率,須再加上高熱穩定性與合適的放光光譜,以實現真實色彩照明。滿足照明需求後,人類追求更好的生活品質,包括高品質的影視系統,意即人類對LED顯示器(背光裝置)的要求亦隨之提升。欲實現此目標,除上述對螢光粉的要求外,須再加上窄譜帶放射的要求,這個要求將使螢光粉設計面臨空前挑戰,此研究亦詳細介紹如何利用活化劑與晶體結構調控,研發窄譜帶放射的螢光粉材料。

隨著科技進步,人類日漸關心自身健康、所吃的食物、種植的植物等面向。可穿戴健康監測系統、食物分析技術、植物栽培等技術亦相繼被開發。而這些涉及從藍光至紅外光區域的光譜技術。因此,紅外光區的寬譜帶螢光粉應運而生。然而,目前相關LED技術或螢光粉材料皆尚未成熟,僅於發展中階段。未來,此類螢光粉材料預期將會應用於更高端與更複雜的LED元件與技術中,視為高端顯示器的最終技術-微發光二極體,其所涉及的相關技術與奈米級發光材料也在其中扮演角色。

此篇論文為過去螢光粉發展做完整的介紹,並闡述螢光粉研發的關鍵機理,將助於未來新穎螢光粉的研發。

本研究成果已於2022年5月22日發表於Chemical Reviews :
https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.chemrev.1c00952

  • 圖1

    螢光粉材料發展里程碑。LED裝置的需求由基本的白光照明系統與高演色性照明系統開始,發展至到高質量之背光系統與高端應用。

  • 圖2

    不同世代之螢光粉材料轉化之封裝後發光二極體。

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端