Date: 2019/1/15

2018 ICCM Annual Meeting and Best Paper Award Ceremony at NTU

The International Consortium of Chinese Mathematicians (ICCM) held its second annual meeting at GIS NTU Convention Center on NTU campus during December 27-29, 2018. This meeting was co-organized by the National Center for Theoretical Sciences, Institute of Mathematics at Academia Sinica, and Shing-Tung Yau Center at National Chiao Tung University. Prof. Shing-Tung Yau (丘成桐), a prominent mathematician and an academician of Academia Sinica, presided over the opening of the annual meeting and presented the ICCM Best Paper Award of 2018.

The ICCM Best Paper Award was created to support and encourage scholars to conduct forward-looking and original research, offering a prize of US$5,000 to each awardee. This year, a number of scholars from Taiwan were recognized and awarded this honor. Among them are Profs. Chin-Lung Wang (王金龍) and Hui-Wen Lin (林惠雯) from the NTU Department of Mathematics, who collaborated with Prof. of Mathematics Yuan-Pin Lee (李元斌) from the University of Utah, on the paper titled, “Towards A+B Theory in Conifold Transitions for Calabi-Yau Threefolds.” This study proposed the concept of A+B theory, which combines the minimal model program and the Gromov-Witten theory, making seminal contributions to basic research.

Assistant Prof. Ting-Jung Kuo (郭庭榕) from the Department of Mathematics at National Taiwan Normal University also received this award for a breakthrough study titled, “Green Function, Painleve VI Equation, and Eisenstein Series of Weight One”—a collaborative work with NTU Profs. of Mathematics Chang-Shou Lin (林長壽), Chin-Lung Wang, and Associate Prof. Zhijie Chen (陳志杰) from the Department of Mathematical Sciences at Tsinghua University in China.

Another award-winning paper, “A Minkowski Type Inequality for Hypersurfaces in the Anti-de Sitter-Schwarzschild Manifold,” was a frontier study on differential geometry collaboratively conducted by two NTU mathematics alumni, Prof. Mu-Tao Wang (王慕道) at the University of Columbia and Prof. Pei-Ken Hung (洪培根) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), as well as Prof. Simon Brendle from the University of Columbia.

Prof. Horng-Tzer Yau (姚鴻澤), an academician of Academia Sinica and a faculty member of Harvard University, has been a leading figure in the fields of probability theory and mathematical physics. This year, Prof. Yau was also awarded for his collaborative paper titled, “Fixed Energy Universality for Generalized Wigner Matrices.” The meeting spanned three days from December 27-29, with an award presentation ceremony, a keynote speech by MIT Prof. George Lusztig, and a public speech by Prof. Shing-Tung Yau on the first day, as well as seminars on the following two days.

  • 2018 ICCM Annual Meeting and Best Paper Award Ceremony at NTU.

    2018 ICCM Annual Meeting and Best Paper Award Ceremony at NTU.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly