Spotlight

Date: 2017/3/24

Center for Condensed Matter Sciences Director Li-Chyong Chen Won 2017 Taiwan’s Outstanding Women in Science Award

The winners of the 10th Taiwan Outstanding Women in Science Awards were announced on March 11, 2017, and the award ceremony was also held on the same day. This year the awardees are all researchers working in the field of “science of matter”. The most notable “Outstanding Women in Science” award, the top honor, went to Dr. Li-Chyong Chen, Director and Research Fellow of the Center for Condensed Matter Sciences (CCMS), National Taiwan University.

TAfter receiving her doctoral degree from Harvard University in 1989, Dr. Li-Chyong Lin joined the Corporate Research and Development division of General Electric’s (GE) Materials Research Center and engaged in the development of high-performance engines and new environmentally friendly energy-efficient luminescent materials. In 1994 Dr. Chen returned to Taiwan and became a researcher of the Center for Condensed Matter Sciences (CCMS) at National Taiwan University. She has since made considerable contributions to the development of advanced materials and their applications, especially in semiconductors, optoelectronics and energy materials. Dr. Chen’s research focuses on the use of sophisticated thin-film technology to synthesize nanostructures and to explore the relationships of their growth mechanisms and microstructures with a variety of physical and chemical properties, the objective of which is to explore the application potential of these materials in support of the global trend of utilizing sustainable energy materials.

With more than 380 research papers published in journals covered by the Science Citation Index (SCI), Dr. Chen is not only a prolific researcher but also one of very high caliber, and her papers have received over 11,650 citations, with h-index = 55. She holds 13 domestic and international patents, and the findings of her research have been recognized internationally as well. Among the honors and awards Dr. Chen has received are: an honorary doctorate from Linköping University, Sweden; Distinguished Visiting Research Fellow, Royal Academy of Engineering, UK; Laureate of the Khwarizmi International Award; Acharya Vinoba International Award in Materials Science and Technology; and Academician of the Asia Pacific Academy of Materials. In 2010 she also became an Elected Fellow of the Materials Research Society, USA, the first Taiwanese scholar to have received this designation. Through her fruitful research Dr. Chen’s has earned international prestige, and her Outstanding Women in Science Award is indeed well deserved. Finding the purpose and meaning in life in the course of conducting research, as well as using technology to benefit humankind and the planet, is what has continued to fuel Dr. Chen’s passion and to propel her forward into the frontier of research.

In addition to serving in the international academic community to help boost the visibility of Taiwan on the world stage, Dr. Chen has also been involved with the establishment of a women’s working committee within the Physical Society of Taiwan and is actively engaged in events and activities (such as science camps) aimed at nurturing scientific talent among young people, especially young women, with the goal of raising the influence and the level of participation of women in science and technology.

  • Center for Condensed Matter Sciences Director Li-Chyong Chen

    Center for Condensed Matter Sciences Director Li-Chyong Chen Won 2017 Taiwan’s Outstanding Women in Science Award

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:106年3月24日

凝態中心主任林麗瓊傑出表現榮獲第十屆台灣傑出女科學家獎

2017年第10屆台灣傑出女科學家獎於3月11日揭曉並頒獎,本屆各類獎項得主皆從「物質科學」領域的女科學家中選出。其中最受矚目的「傑出女科學家獎」由台灣大學凝態科學研究中心主任林麗瓊特聘研究員獲得。

學術歷程與成就

林麗瓊研究員於1989年在哈佛大學獲得博士學位之後,受聘於美國奇異公司研發總部,從事開發高效能引擎與節能環保新發光材料之研究。1994年返台受聘於台灣大學凝態科學研究中心。林博士在尖端材料開發及其應用的研究成就斐然,尤其是在半導體、光電與能源材料等領域多所貢獻。林博士著重於利用先進薄膜技術來合成奈米結構,探討其成長機制、微結構與各種物理及化學性質的關係,從而開發其應用潛能。因應全球能源材料的永續趨勢,在節能光電與永續能源領域之基礎與應用研究上,無論是燃料電池、太陽能燃料、太陽能電池或熱電材料;林博士擅長於開發碳基之低維度奈米材料與基於物產資源較豐富元素之新穎材料,首重綠色和環保原則,設計暨合成高功能複合式低維結構,使其在催化、光電與量子等基本效應上展現新奇特性,並利於永續應用。

整體而言,林博士研究著作質量並重,目前已發表之SCI論文超過380篇,迄今被引用次數超過11,650次,h-index = 55,擁有十三項國內外專利,許多研究成果亦受到國際矚目與肯定。除了獲頒國科會傑出獎、傑出人才發展基金會-傑出人才講座與侯金堆傑出榮譽獎等等國內重要獎項,林博士也曾獲頒瑞典林雪平大學榮譽博士、英國皇家工程學院傑出訪問學者、國際花喇子模科學獎、國際阿查亞維諾巴材料科學與技術獎、亞太材料科學院院士等。此外,2010年獲選為美國材料學會會士,是台灣第一位獲此榮譽者。研究成果豐碩且在國際上享有聲望的林麗瓊研究員榮獲傑出女科學家乃實至名歸。

科研與社會貢獻的使命感

林麗瓊研究員對科學研究充滿熱忱與使命感,特別著重能源材料的議題,林博士認為科技在人類發展中扮演關鍵角色,而科技的學習就是為了造福人類。雖然即便科技發展至今未必百分之百帶來正向影響;像工業化帶來進步,卻也帶來地球暖化,但若科學家能夠喚起大眾對地球暖化的警覺性,並在研究過程中找到自己存在的價值、意義,讓科技得以造福人、造福地球,那便是她對研究的熱情得以持續不減之主要原因。例如,近年來林博士以氧化石墨烯和其相關二維材料及奈米複合結構,成功製作出高效能之光觸媒,可一石兩鳥解決能源與環境問題。

積極培育青年與女性科研人才

林麗瓊研究員除了積極在國際性學術社團服務,增加臺灣國際能見度外,對於國內青年與女性科研人才的培育,更是不遺餘力。林博士在許多專業服務社團擔任要角,例如物理學會理事及常務理事、台灣鍍膜科技協會理事等。因有感於臺灣女性物理學人在養成過程中,屬於極少數的處境,於是推動物理學會創立女性工作委員會,並積極投入多項如科學營等有關青年與女性科研人才之育才活動,藉此向臺灣社會大眾推介女性攻讀物理,激勵他們對夢想之執著與熱情,活得快樂活得精彩,增進女科技人的參與及影響力。

  • 合照

    大合照

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端