Spotlight

Date: 2018/8/31

Prof. Lin-Shan Lee Recognized as a Programming Pioneer by Nature

Prof. Lin-Shan Lee (李琳山) of the NTU Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering was covered by Nature in a news feature as one of the 10 “Science Stars of East Asia ” (2018/06/27). In the article, Prof. Lee is recognized as a programming pioneer seeking to develop “a spoken version of Google.”

For more than a decade, Prof. Lee has been devoted to developing spoken content retrieval technologies, the realization of which requires industrial participation and investment. With these efforts, Prof. Lee aims to create a “spoken version of Google”—a technology expected to exert immense impact on human life worldwide.

Nowadays, the amount of online multimedia content on YouTube and online course platforms has increased exponentially. However, when searching content on YouTube, we can only rely on the texts uploaded by content providers without being able to effectively retrieve a specific sentence in the voice-over or locate other related video clips.

Google can access all articles online and locate the specific one users are looking for. Similarly, it is likely that speech recognition technology may help users access all online audio and video recordings to find specific sentences, extract keywords from spoken content, generate titles and summaries, and perform topic analysis. The use of such technologies in online courses, namely the direct application of a “spoken version of Google,” will result in further education revolutions.

The feature article also touches on Prof. Lee’s pioneering role in creating the world’s first Mandarin speech-recognition device and the critical importance of this achievement. In his early career in the United States, Prof. Lee focused on satellites used for telephone communication both in his doctoral studies and research projects in industry. Having shifted his domain from satellites to computers, Prof. Lee’s major interest still remains in the processing of human voice signals.

  • Nature covers and praises NTU Prof. Lin-Shan Lee as a programming pioneer in a news feature.

    Nature covers and praises NTU Prof. Lin-Shan Lee as a programming pioneer in a news feature.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:107年8月31日

自然期刊:臺大李琳山教授「程式的先驅者」

尋求創造語音版的Google的計算機科學家

國際科學權威期刊《自然》(Nature)在最新一期6月27日出刊的專欄文章中,列舉10名東亞科學明星(Science stars of East Asia),其中臺灣大學李琳山教授被譽為「程式的先驅者」(Programming pioneer) ,並為其中唯一研究內容與電機資訊相關學者。

專訪指出李教授近十餘年來所努力之大方向:語音數位內容之搜尋(Spoken Content Retrieval)雖有賴產業界之資源力量才有實現機會,但大目標就是促成未來的「語音版的Google(a spoken version of Google)」,有望對全球人類文化生活造成重大影響。

簡單的說,今日網路上之多媒體數位內容(如YouTube、線上課程等)已如排山倒海般湧現,並蘊藏巨量人類文化之精華。但若要搜尋YouTube影片,使用者只能倚賴影片提供者所上傳的文字資訊,並用文字搜尋找到整段影片,卻無法有效利用影片之語音旁白直接找到其中每一句話及所附屬的影片。

事實上Google能看盡天下文章後幫使用者找到每一篇文章,今日的語音技術亦有機會看盡天下影片後幫使用者找到每一句話,並為語音數位內容(Spoken Content)抽出關鍵詞(Keywords),建構標題(Titles)、摘要(Summary)及分析主題(Topic Analysis)等;這僅僅用在線上課程上就可以造成教育的革命,那也就是「語音版的Google」最直接的應用實例。

專訪中也提到此項研究承襲李教授早年開拓華語語音技術所造成之重大影響,並與李教授在美博士論文及在美工業界工作期間所從事的人造衛星越洋電話工程一脈相承:同是處理人類語音信號,只是把人造衛星換成了電腦。原文詳網頁:https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-018-05506-1

  • 自然期刊:臺大李琳山教授「程式的先驅者」

    自然期刊:臺大李琳山教授「程式的先驅者」

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端