Spotlight

Date: 2018/12/21

Interim President Kuo Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors

The National Academy of Inventors (NAI), the United States, officially announced the 2018 class of NAI Fellows on December 11, 2018. This year, a total of 148 renowned academic inventors have been elected to NAI Fellow status. NTU Interim President Tei-Wei Kuo (郭大維), a distinguished professor at NTU as well as an ACM Fellow and IEEE Fellow, is among the elected.

Election to NAI Fellow status is the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation and made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. Dr. Kuo’s research interests include real-time systems, embedded systems, non-volatile memory storage/memory software designs (such as those of flash memory and PCM), and real-time database systems. With an emphasis on both theory and practice, Dr. Kuo’s research has driven both economic and social progress.

The 2018 class of NAI Fellows represent over 250 research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes worldwide, and are named inventors on nearly 4,000 issued US patents. To date, there are over 1,000 NAI Fellows who have generated over 11,000 licensed technologies and companies, created over 1.4 million jobs, and brought about over $190 billion in revenue. Among this year’s NAI Fellows are 25 presidents of research universities and leaders of nonprofit research institutes, 5 recipients of the US National Medal of Technology & Innovation and National Medal of Science, and 3 Nobel laureates.

“I am very proud to welcome another class of outstanding NAI Fellows, whose collective achievements have helped shape the future and who each day work to improve our world,” said Paul R. Sanberg, President of the NAI. “Each of these new NAI Fellows embodies the Academy’s mission through their dedication, creativity and inventive spirit. I look forward to working collaboratively with the new NAI Fellows in growing a global culture of innovation.”

The 2018 NAI Fellows will be highlighted with a full page announcement in the 25 January 2019 issue of The Chronicle of Higher Education and in the upcoming issues of Technology & Innovation. The complete list of NAI Fellows is available on the NAI website.

  • Interim President Kuo is elected to NAI Fellow status.

    Interim President Kuo is elected to NAI Fellow status.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:107年12月21日

郭大維代理校長榮獲美國國家發明家學院院士

美國發明家學院(National Academy of Inventors, NAI)於美國時間11日上午公布2018年獲選發明家院士(NAI Fellow),今年共有148位創新研究學者及發明家獲此殊榮,本校郭大維代理校長亦受肯定。

NAI院士是國際發明家獎項中最重要的榮譽之一,除了注重學術成就,更推崇創新及學有所用。郭大維教授之研究可分為嵌入式系統(Embedded Systems)、即時系統(Real-Time Systems)、作業系統(Operating Systems)與非揮發性記憶體儲存與記憶體管理軟體設計(Non-Volatile Memory Storage/Memory Management Software, 如Flash Memory與PCM之軟體)等主軸,理論與實務並重,為我們的經濟與社會進步發展提供創新動力。

2018年發明家院士來自全球125所研究型大學、政府單位以及非營利研究機構。他們是將近4,000項美國專利的發明者,創造了140多萬個就業機會,以及超過1,900億美元的收入。今年獲獎的NAI新科院士,包括超過25位研究型大學校長、非營利研究機構的負責人;其中更有5名曾獲美國國家技術與創新獎章和美國國家科學獎章,以及3位諾貝爾獎得主。

NAI主席Paul R. Sanberg表示:「很榮幸能歡迎這一屆傑出的NAI院士。他們集體的研究成果,塑造了未來;每天孜孜不倦,致力改善這個世界。每一位新科院士都滿懷奉獻、創意及創造力的精神,體現了學會的使命。我非常期待與新院士合作,共同發展全球創新文化。」

  • 郭大維代理校長榮獲美國國家發明家學院院士

    郭大維代理校長榮獲美國國家發明家學院院士

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端