News

Spotlight

Date: 2019/7/1

A Moment of Joy and Pride: International Degree Students’ Farewell Party

On June 1, 2019, the NTU Office of International Affairs organized the first International Degree Students’ Farewell Party to celebrate the academic achievements of this year’s international graduates. International graduate degree students from 18 countries, namely the United States, the Netherlands, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, Brazil, Guatemala, Haiti, Vietnam, Malaysia, India, Indonesia, Ukraine, Iraq, Turkey, Ecuador, Swaziland, and Burkina Faso, brought family members and friends to jointly celebrate their graduation.

The event was officially opened with a speech by Executive Vice President and Vice President for International Affairs, Prof. Chiapei Chou (周家蓓), who welcomed the fresh graduates and their guests to this special event and wished the recent graduates success for their next steps. Subsequently, some of the recent international graduates took the stage to share their reflections and lessons learned during their time at NTU.

For example, Tomo Aoi (葵朋), an electrical engineering graduate from Japan, shared his difficulties when first arriving at NTU. In the beginning, he hesitated to ask for support and help and—as a result—his academic performance suffered. To overcome the challenges, he started to ask questions and engage in discussions with his classmates, and his academic performance quickly improved.

The finance master’s graduate Audrey Lau (劉巧儀) from Singapore shared her memories as a member of the NTU tennis team, where she made many new friends and got plenty of opportunities to improve her Chinese. She also thanked the faculty members at the College of Management for their support and guidance and expressed that she considered herself very lucky to have found a job in Taiwan.

Omer Bahadir Celik (德歐傑), a graduate from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, told the audience that although he had learned Chinese for a year before studying at NTU, he quickly realized that his Chinese language proficiency was not sufficient. As a result, he prioritized improving his Chinese and in doing so experienced the friendliness of the Taiwanese people and the campus community at NTU.

The civil engineering graduate Yahya Namiq Abdullah (朴德亞) from Iraq thanked his teachers for the guidance throughout his time at NTU and the administrative staff for helping him to smoothly integrate into his new life. He had never imagined being able to master the Chinese language.

Vu Tuan Pham (范俊于) from Vietnam, who graduated with a doctoral degree in public health, expressed his pride to be a student of NTU. He emphasized the quality of NTU’s learning environment, faculty, and administrative staff, as well as the abundant help he had received everywhere during his time at NTU. He was a member of the NTU Vietnamese Student Association and loves playing football with his classmates. The only regret he has about his time in Taiwan is that he did not perfect his Chinese language skills.

During the last years, NTU has done everything to develop and implement campus internationalization. International students can benefit from generous scholarships and help and guidance from the admission process until graduation. Through these measures, NTU strives to create an excellent learning environment, educate global talent, and attract outstanding students from all over the world.

  • Executive Vice President Chiapei Chou and Deputy Vice President for International Affairs Bi-Fong Lin (林璧鳳) surrounded by the freshly graduated international degree students

    Executive Vice President Chiapei Chou and Deputy Vice President for International Affairs Bi-Fong Lin (林璧鳳) surrounded by the freshly graduated international degree students

  • Executive Vice President Chou warmly welcomes international degree students and their guests.

    Executive Vice President Chou warmly welcomes international degree students and their guests.

  • Executive Vice President Chou warmly welcomes international degree students and their guests.

    Executive Vice President Chou warmly welcomes international degree students and their guests.

  • Audrey Lau from Singapore shares her learning experience at NTU.

    Audrey Lau from Singapore shares her learning experience at NTU.

  • Tomo Aoi from Japan shares his learning experience at NTU.

    Tomo Aoi from Japan shares his learning experience at NTU.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:108年7月1日

本校首次舉辦國際學位生畢業茶會 國際學生分享學習成果

國際事務處特於108年6月1日假本校綜合教學館舉辦「107學年度國際學位生畢業茶會」。此茶會為本校首次舉辦,當天有來自美國、荷蘭、日本、南韓、新加坡、巴西、瓜地馬拉、海地、越南、馬來西亞、印度、印尼、烏克蘭、伊拉克、土耳其、厄瓜多、史瓦濟蘭、布吉納法索等 18 國,近百位畢業國際學位生及其家長親友參加。

活動當天由本校副校長兼國際長周家蓓教授致詞揭開序幕,周副校長感謝並歡迎畢業國際學位生及遠道而來的家長親友團熱情參與外,同時祝福所有畢業生未來能有更多元的發展。接著,由幾位應屆畢業國際學位生代表上臺分享在臺大求學期間的感想與心路歷程。

電機系日本籍葵朋(Tomo Aoi)同學分享他剛來臺灣時,什麼事情都靠自己,覺得問別人很羞恥,加上系上的同學看起來都非常天才,讓他更不敢開口,所以他的課業表現不佳。為了突破困難,他開始嘗試詢問並找同學討論,學業成績也隨之進步。他認為成功不應該只是個人的,而是團體的。他很慶幸自己能在出社會前,就有這樣的經歷跟體驗。

財經所碩士班新加坡籍劉巧儀(Cheau Yi, Audrey Lau)同學分享在校期間參加網球校隊,交到很多好朋友,而且中文進步很多,她非常感謝管理學院許多老師的指導,而且她也很幸運地在臺灣找到工作。

機械系土耳其籍德歐傑(Omer Bahadir Celik)同學分享他剛入學時,雖然已經學一年的中文,但是他的中文能力還是不夠好,於是他下定決心要把中文學好,在這過程中他經歷了臺灣人以及臺大校園的友善。

土木系伊拉克籍朴德亞(Yahya Namiq Abdullah)同學則非常感謝這幾年在臺大念書期間不斷教導他的師長們,協助他順利適應生活的行政人員,他從來沒有想過他可以學好中文。

公共衛生學系博士班越南籍范俊于(Vu Tuan Pham)同學說他身為臺大學生感到非常驕傲,他覺得臺大的學習環境非常好,臺大所有教職員工也都非常好,在他就學期間給予他許多的幫助。他參加臺大越南同學會,和同學們一起踢足球,是他在校時難忘的回憶。他覺得在臺灣遇到最困難還有遺憾的事,就是沒有把中文學好。

臺大在發展校園國際化方面不遺餘力,不管在招生程序、獎學金制度、照顧輔導皆力求精進,締造良好的學習環境,培養國際性專業人才,吸引世界各地優秀學生前來修讀。

  • 周家蓓副校長、林璧鳳副國際長與全體與會畢業生合影

    周家蓓副校長、林璧鳳副國際長與全體與會畢業生合影

  • 周家蓓副校長與畢業國際學位生家長相見歡

    周家蓓副校長與畢業國際學位生家長相見歡

  • 周家蓓副校長向畢業國際學位生致歡迎詞

    周家蓓副校長向畢業國際學位生致歡迎詞

  • 新加坡學生分享學習心得

    新加坡學生分享學習心得

  • 日本學生分享學習心得

    日本學生分享學習心得

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端