News

Spotlight

Date: 2019/7/1

Five NTU Labs Join GASE Summer Program to Promote Scientific Research

The Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) established the Center for Global Affairs and Science Engagement (GASE) at NTU to provide a platform for international cooperation in scientific research for colleges and universities. This year, GASE launched the Summer Program, selecting outstanding youths from abroad to join top labs in Taiwan for five weeks of research and cultural activities from June 17 to July 27. Five NTU professors and their labs joined the program to help develop international scientific talents.

The 2019 MOST GASE Summer Program opened on June 19. This year, the program featured “quantum technology” and “artificial technology”—the two areas that the Taiwanese government has been promoting in recent years. At the opening ceremony, MOST Deputy Minister Yu-Chin Hsu (許有進) welcomed youths interested in scientific research from around the world to join the labs led by Taiwan’s outstanding scholars for five weeks of experiential learning, a week of group training, and a meeting for final presentations. Through these experiences, Minister Hsu expected the participating international students to foster stronger connections with Taiwan.

According to GASE Director Hsiao-Wei Yuan (袁孝維), 34 outstanding young scholars from over 10 countries, including Germany, Spain, Italy, the United Kingdom, Lithuania, Latvian, India, the Philippines, Vietnam, Thailand, and Malaysia, were selected to participate in the summer program. In addition, GASE invited leading labs across Taiwan to join the program to help foster the connections between Taiwan’s academia and the universities and research institutes abroad.

This inaugural event has engaged 13 universities and 23 university labs across Taiwan to provide training sessions and experimental courses. NTU Executive Vice President Chiapei Chou (周家蓓) said NTU was glad to have five professors invited to serve as mentors in the program. They were renowned quantum computing scholars Distinguished Prof. of Physics Ching-Ray Chang (張慶瑞), Prof. of Physics Hsi-Sheng Goan (管希聖), Prof. of Electrical Engineering Jie-Hong Roland Jiang (江介宏); and artificial intelligence scholars Prof. of Mathematics Weichung Wang (王偉仲) and NTU IoX Center Director Jane Yung-Jen Hsu (許永真). Chou mentioned that Director Hsu was the only female mentor, and there were six female students in the program. She was optimistic that more female mentors and students will participate in the GASE Summer Program in the future, showcasing women’s competitiveness and capacity in scientific research.

Studying at cutting-edge, innovative labs helped the young scientists broaden their horizons. The summer program also provided an opportunity for potential scientific talents around the globe to interact with excellent university faculty and lab team members in Taiwan. Overall, this program not only familiarized the participating students with the higher education and scientific research environment in Taiwan, but also allowed the lab mentors to assess the expertise of the students and encourage those with extraordinary potential to pursue further studies or work in Taiwan. After returning to their countries, the participants could also help spread the word about Taiwan’s research capacity, enhance Taiwan’s visibility, and add more value to both the academia and industry of our country.

  • A tour to Jiufen during the MOST GASE Summer Camp.

    A tour to Jiufen during the MOST GASE Summer Camp.

  • GASE Director Hsiao-Wei Yuan expects to see more scholarly exchanges between Taiwan and the world through GASE.

    GASE Director Hsiao-Wei Yuan expects to see more scholarly exchanges between Taiwan and the world through GASE.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:108年7月1日

本校五頂尖實驗室參與科技部舉辦之全球青年暑期營

科技部全球事務與科學發展中心 (MOST Center for Global Affairs and Science Engagement, GASE) 是科技部在本校設立,提供大專院校科研成果的國際合作平臺。今年首度舉辦「2019科技部全球青年暑期營(Summer Program)」,遴選國外優秀青年來臺,進入頂尖實驗室研習,本校有五位優秀教授參與,培育國際人才。

「2019科技部全球青年暑期營」於6月19日揭開序幕。科技部次長許有進表示,今年暑期營以我國力推的「量子科技」和「人工智慧」為主題,邀請全球有志於科學研究的青年學生進入國內傑出學者實驗室進行五週「體驗式學習(Experiential learning」,並安排一週團訓和期末成果發表會,希望學生們透過這些體驗,與臺灣緊密聯繫。

GASE中心主任袁孝維表示,此次遴選來自德國、西班牙、義大利、英國、立陶宛、拉托維亞及新南向國家印度、菲律賓、越南、泰國、馬來西亞等10國家、34位優秀青年來臺,並邀請全臺頂尖學術研究實驗室參與,促進臺灣學術界與國外大學、研究機構之交流鏈結。

此次包括北中南東13所大學、23個大學實驗室提供教學及實驗課程。本校副校長周家蓓說,臺大有五位教授擔任學員導師,包括在量子運算上享譽國際的物理學系特聘教授張慶瑞、物理學系教授管希聖、電機工程學系教授江介宏;以及鑽研AI研究的數學系教授王偉仲、智慧聯網創新中心主任許永真。周家蓓也說,這次許永真教授是唯一的女性導師,暑期營隊中也有六位女學員,相信日後暑期營會有更多女學員加入,發揮女性在科學領域不讓鬚眉的角色。

年輕科學家透過在前瞻創新的實驗室研習,有助於擴展視野。同時藉由暑期營,也讓來自全球的科研界潛力新星,與臺灣優秀師資與實驗室交流,扎根日後磁吸人才的種子,吸引國際優秀科學家來臺就學或工作,學員在臺研習期間,可瞭解我國就學及科研環境,實驗室導師則可評估學員專業智能,具優異潛質者,可鼓勵續留就學或工作,學員返國後口碑宣傳臺灣科研銳實力可傳遞對同儕間的影響,對於臺灣的能見度,有加值的效益。

  • 暑期營文化之旅,帶學生到九份參訪體驗

    暑期營文化之旅,帶學生到九份參訪體驗

  • GASE中心主任袁孝維表示,GASE將促成臺灣學術界與國際交流

    GASE中心主任袁孝維表示,GASE將促成臺灣學術界與國際交流

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端