Spotlight

Date: 2019/11/12

Collaborations with NUS Furthered in EECS, Management, and Chinese

To further and substantiate collaborations in specific fields with the National University of Singapore (NUS), a partner university of NTU, President Chung-Ming Kuan (管中閔) led a delegation comprising Executive Vice President Chiapei Chou (周家蓓), Dean of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Yao-Wen Chang (張耀文), Dean of Management Shing-Yang Hu (胡星陽), Chair of the Department of Chinese Literature Chia-Ling Mei (梅家玲), and CEO of the Department of Development Simon Liou (劉鴻章) to visit NUS on October 25, 2019.

The visit began with discussions on potential areas of collaboration, followed by a panel joined by the NTU delegation, NUS President Tan Eng Chye (陳永財), and NUS Senior Deputy President and Provost Ho Teck Hua (何德華).

The discussions led to fruitful outcomes. In the field of EECS, both NTU and NUS agreed to enhance faculty/student exchange, research collaborations, and the sharing of industrial and academic resources. In the future, a specific number of doctoral students will be selected for student exchange every year, and the students can be jointly advised by faculty members of NTU and NUS without having to pay the tuition fee of the other university. In the field of management, both universities shared information about their summer programs and deliberated on jointly offering elective courses for EMBA students. In the field of Chinese studies, besides scheduling the dates for signing an MOU this year for conducting faculty/student visits and co-organizing an academic summer camp next year, NTU will offer courses on Chinese literature and news writing for NUS students. NUS’s Department of Chinese Studies also planned to list the opportunity of joining a one-year student exchange program at NTU in its student recruitment promotional materials.

NUS’s field representatives attending the panel included Dean of Engineering Aaron Thean, Vice Dean of Engineering Chin Wei Ngan, Dean of Business School Andrew K. Rose, and Head of the Department of Chinese Studies Kenneth Dean.

Both NTU and NUS are among the leading comprehensive research universities in academia. Since initiating partnership in 2001, the two universities have engaged in frequent and active interactions at both university and departmental levels. To date, NTU and NUS have jointly offered student exchange programs in such fields as management, nursing, and industrial engineering, sending over 200 exchange students to each other’s campus in the past five years.

  • Group photo taken during the visit.

    Group photo taken during the visit.

  • NUS President Tan Eng Chye (left) and NTU President Chung-Ming Kuan (right).

    NUS President Tan Eng Chye (left) and NTU President Chung-Ming Kuan (right).

  • NTU delegation’s visit to NUS.

    NTU delegation’s visit to NUS.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:108年11月12日

與新加坡國立大學 電資、管理、中文合作項目再深化

為促進本校與姊妹校新加坡國立大學針對特定領域深入交流合作,管中閔校長率同周家蓓副校長、電資學院張耀文院長、管理學院胡星陽院長、中文系梅家玲主任與財管處劉鴻章執行長一行六人,於10月25日拜訪該校。

雙方首先進行各專業領域的合作可能性深入會談,隨後由新加坡國立大學陳永財校長、何德華副校長與本校團隊共同座談,就先前各領域會談結果進行綜合討論。

合作商談之成果具體可觀,電機資訊領域方面,雙方同意加強教師學生的交流、學術研究的合作和產學資源的共享等,每年遴選定額博士班學生研究交換,交換生可由雙方教師共同指導,並僅需繳交原學校的學費;管理領域則談及暑期班資訊分享、EMBA班級選修課共同授課;中文領域除議定將於本年度簽訂協議,進行兩系教授與學生之交換互訪,以及明年暑期合作舉辦學術研習營之外,臺大亦將提供文學與新聞寫作訓練之相關課程,供新加坡國立大學學生來臺修習,該校中文系並擬將可選擇赴台大交換學習一年,列入該系招生訊息之中。

新加坡國立大學本次參與分項討論的代表,有工學院Aaron Thean院長兼電機與計算機工程學系教授、Chin Wei Ngan副院長兼計算學院教授;商學院Andrew K. Rose院長及對外關係蔡藍討處長;中文系丁荷生主任、李焯然、容世誠、蘇瑞隆、勞悅強、徐蘭君、曾昭程、劉晨等教授。

新加坡國立大學與臺大相同,都是學術界最頂尖的綜合型研究大學。兩校結盟始於2001年,兩校教師之學術互動極為頻繁,在校級、管理學院、護理學系、工業工程學研究所,都合作有交換學生計畫,近五年間學生交換超過百名。

  • 大合照

    大合照

  • 管校長訪新加坡國立大學

    管校長訪新加坡國立大學

  • 大合照

    大合照

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端