Spotlight

Date: 2019/12/16

2018 Nobel Prize in Physics Winner Gérard Mourou on His Quest for Light

Prof. Gérard Mourou, winner of the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics, was invited jointly by the Leung Center for Cosmology and Particle Astrophysics (LeCosPA) and the Center for General Education at NTU to deliver a speech on “A Lifetime’s Quest for Light” for the NTU Lectures on the Intellectual and Spiritual Pilgrimage at the NTU Chee-Chun Leung Cosmology Hall on November 9, 2019. Prof. Mourou introduced one of his major findings—chirped pulse amplification (CPA), as well as his observations and experience at the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony.

Visible laser has been widely applied in a variety of research fields since its invention in 1960. However, by the 1970s, laser development began to stagnate due to difficulties in building larger amplifiers to increase laser power density. Prof. Mourou and Prof. Donna Strickland, who was still a doctoral student then, overcome the difficulties and invented the CPA technology together.

Prof. Mourou recalled how the idea of grating occurred to him when he was sitting on an ascending ski lift in a ski resort. He wondered whether dispersing a laser beam using gratings, stretching the split laser pulses to reduce their unit power density before amplification, and then compressing the pulses to reverse the dispersion would solve the problem. This idea was later realized through precise design and experiments, successfully amplifying laser pulses and increasing laser power density to a level previously unattained. The research results were published in 1985 and set the foundation for Prof. Mourou’s winning of the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Knowing the potential of ultrashort laser pulses to perform precision ablation, Prof. Mourou collaborated with eye doctors in applying the pulses to corneal surgery and thus created the “corrective laser eye surgery.” Since 2001, this surgery has benefited nearly a million patients, an achievement particularly highlighted at the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony. Furthermore, Prof. Mourou illustrated the extensive applications of laser in the future, including facilitating the next-generation particle accelerator, removing radioactive materials from nuclear waste, generating proton beams for proton therapy, and simulating a black hole.

Besides expressing appreciation to his wife, Prof. Mourou recounted the most impressive moment for winning the Nobel Prize to be the occasion after the award ceremony, when he was ushered into an office, given an ordinary notebook with the signatures of all the previous Nobel Prize winners, and requested to sign his name on it. Adding his name to the list felt like standing shoulder to shoulder with the many great physicists in history – a tremendous honor to him.

Finally, the Nobel Prize laureate noted that students are equally capable of making groundbreaking contributions as established scientists do. For example, although the CPA technology was published by Prof. Strickland during her doctoral studies, it eventually garnered her a Nobel Prize in Physics. As one of the few female Nobel Prize laureates, Prof. Strickland is an inspiring role model for women scientists. He expressed the hope to see more women shine and establish themselves in the realm of physics and other scientific research fields.

  • Prof. Gérard Mourou delivers a speech at NTU.

    Prof. Gérard Mourou delivers a speech at NTU.

  • Prof. Mourou (third from left) visits President Chung-Ming Kuan (管中閔; third from right) after the speech.

    Prof. Mourou (third from left) visits President Chung-Ming Kuan (管中閔; third from right) after the speech.

  • Prof. Mourou (left) and LeCosPA Director Pisin Chen (陳丕燊; right) at the NTU Chee-Chun Leung Cosmology Hall.

    Prof. Mourou (left) and LeCosPA Director Pisin Chen (陳丕燊; right) at the NTU Chee-Chun Leung Cosmology Hall.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter google+ plurk Forward Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:108年12月16日

2018諾貝爾物理學獎得主傑拉.慕儒到校演講【我一生對光的追求】

2018諾貝爾物理學獎得主傑拉.慕儒教授 (Prof. Gérard Mourou) 應本校梁次震中心及共同教育中心邀請於11月9日蒞臨台灣大學次震宇宙館,在台大「我的學思歷程」系列發表 《我一生對光的追求》演講。講座中慕儒教授介紹他的重要發現—啁啾脈衝放大技術 (Chirped Pulse Application, CPA) 及分享諾貝爾頒獎典禮過程。

可見光雷射自1960年發明後就被廣泛運用在各領域研究中,但1970年代提升雷射能量密度,需要不斷加大它的放大器而逐漸遇到瓶頸,進入停滯期。就在此時期,慕儒教授是與當時還是博士生的唐娜.史崔克蘭 (Donna Strickland) 教授共同發明啁啾放大技術,突破此瓶頸。他回憶道:「當他坐在滑雪場的纜車上時,看著眼前緩緩斜坡,靈機一動想到了光柵 (Grating)」。 他想是否可以先利用光柵將一束光的不同頻率先分開,把雷射的脈衝拉長,單位密度降低之後再放大,放大完後,再透過光柵將不同頻率重新匯合在一起,如此是否可將問題解決? 此一概念經過精密設計後,成功將雷射能量密度突破過往的限制並於1985年發表,奠定了慕儒教授獲得2018諾貝爾物理獎契機。

雷射應用方面慕儒教授發現飛秒脈衝打在物體上可以實現精準的燒蝕。他和眼科醫生合作將此特性運用於角膜手術,也就是雷射近視矯正,自2001年起,每年造福近百萬人,在諾貝爾頒獎典禮上此應用也受到了特別表彰。慕儒教授也指出數種未來的應用,包括有機會成為新一代的粒子加速器、消除核廢料中殘留的輻射、產生用於質子治療的質子束,甚至用來模擬黑洞,為大家描繪了雷射廣大的發展潛力。

對於榮獲諾貝爾獎,慕儒教授表示,除了對於妻子的感謝,最觸動的其實並不是獲獎那一刻,而是在儀式後,他被帶到一間辦公室,工作人員拿給他一本不起眼的簿子,裡面有歷年諾貝爾獎得主的簽名,愛因斯坦、薛丁格等等……,他在後頭簽上了自己的名字,就像是與諸多偉大物理學家比肩的感覺,使他覺得十分榮耀也成為他印象最深刻的一個畫面。

最後他勉勵在座學生們,啁啾脈衝技術為史崔克蘭教授在攻讀博士時所發表的論文,最後以此獲得諾貝爾獎。只要好好努力,學生時期也能做出傑出的貢獻。此外,史崔克蘭教授為諾貝爾物理獎中極為少數的女性獲獎者,慕儒教授也認為這對女性科學研究者是一大鼓舞,他十分期待在未來有更多女性可以在物理及其他科學研究領域發光發熱。

註:光柵(Grating):是種可以將一束光中不同頻率分開的光學元件。

  • 傑拉.慕儒教授演講現場

    傑拉.慕儒教授演講現場

  • Gerard Mourou教授于演講後拜會校長。

    Gerard Mourou教授于演講後拜會校長。

  • Prof. Mourou參觀次震宇宙館時空探索微館留影

    Prof. Mourou參觀次震宇宙館時空探索微館留影

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端