News

Spotlight

Date: 2020/7/1

First USR Report Issued: “Propelling into the Future by Practicing Sustainability”

What is the social responsibility of a university? NTU released its first Social Responsibility and Sustainability Report (the “USR Report”) on June 23, compiling and illustrating NTU’s concrete actions in campus governance, education, research, services, as well as the blueprint for continuously fulfilling its university social responsibility (USR). USR is more than serving the community, and campus sustainability is never just about environmental protection and ecological greening. By releasing this report, NTU demonstrates how a university can impart knowledge to the society, facilitate socioeconomic development, enhance environmental sustainability, and particularly in face of emergencies such as the COVID-19 pandemic, fulfill its local and global social responsibility.

During the campaign for NTU presidency, President Chung-Ming Kuan (管中閔) made a promise to issue the USR Report regularly. After inauguration in 2019, President Kuan established the NTU USR Committee and the Office of Institutional Research and Social Responsibility, which then officially began to develop NTU’s sustainability blueprint, formulate implementation plans, and compile a USR report.

According to President Kuan, every university has a duty to contribute to the society, and this commitment is part of NTU’s legacy. As early as 1949, NTU’s former President Ssu-Nien Fu (傅斯年) mentioned in a speech that we “dedicate the University to the Spiritus Universalis,” highlighting the merits of “integrity, diligence, fidelity, and compassion”—which later became the motto of NTU. This legacy has proved to be relevant even today. Nowadays, corporate social responsibility (CSR) has become a key indicator of a business’s competitiveness, and universities are also expected to undertake USR initiatives in connecting the global with the local. In view of this, NTU has generated and issued the 2019 NTU USR Report following the guidance of the United Nations’ 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) released in 2015 and the Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating System (STARS).

This report systematically details NTU’s comprehensive performance in environmental, social and governance (ESG) dimensions, as reflected in its sustainability vision and blueprint, social impact, and campus sustainability. In addition, it also illustrates how NTU has risen to rank among the world’s top universities by integrating ESG objectives into its education, research, services, innovation, and entrepreneurship.

During the launch, President Kuan announced that NTU has pledged towards the Paris Agreement of limiting the global temperature rise to 1.5℃, and set its carbon reduction targets according to the Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTi). NTU pledges to reach 50% of carbon neutrality by its centennial in 2028 and achieve complete carbon neutrality by 2048. Following SBTi criteria, NTU will propose carbon reduction targets as well as the roadmap and measures to reach these targets within 12 months. Meanwhile, we will also promote research on carbon neutrality, including the development of alternative energies (e.g., solar energy, geothermal power, wind power, and biogas power) and the management of forest health to increase carbon sequestration.

Undertaking social responsibility both internationally and locally, NTU has played a critical role in talent development and the pursuit of research excellence while actively responding to challenges with expertise and innovation. The dedicated efforts of all NTU members to advancing sustainable development can also be found both at home and abroad in such fields as medicine, public health, food safety, food agricultural education, long-term care, smart city, sustainable environment, and energy transition.

For example, students from the College of Public Health travelled a long way to Malawi in Africa to help fight malaria; a team of medical experts from NTU Hospital visited Guatemala in Central America and worked closely with local public hospitals to improve maternal and newborn health; and students of NTU World Volunteer Society initiated a campaign to collect computers and later travelled to Ladakh in the Himalayan region to promote information education. In Taiwan, botanists from the College of Bioresources and Agriculture helped prevent pests from destroying crops in Yunlin; a team of experts from NTU Experimental Forest provided vocational training for local indigenous residents; and NTU students offered after-school tutoring at elementary schools in remote areas, helping students from disadvantaged background to learn more effectively. NTU has also played a key role in the prevention of lychee stink bugs and the research on African swine fever.

NTU is glad to take the lead and share our experiences about USR with other colleges and universities. President Kuan hoped that the release of the 2019 NTU USR Report will inspire more schools to join NTU in making greater impact and raising Taiwanese people’s awareness of social responsibility. In the future, NTU will regularly issue the USR Report as a means of self-examination and self-improvement, thereby integrating our teaching and research capacity to further the practice of social responsibility, respond actively to public expectations, and ensure the realization of the SDGs.

  • Image 1

    NTU launches its first USR Report on June 23, detailing its actions in campus governance, education, research, and services.

  • Image 2

    (From left) EVP Ching-Hua Lo (羅清華), President Chung-Ming Kuan, EVP Chiapei Chou (周家蓓), and EVP Shan-Chwen Chang (張上淳).

  • Image 3

    President Chung-Ming Kuan addresses the audience at the launch of NTU’s first USR Report on June 23.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:109年7月1日

臺灣大學第一本《社會責任報告書》 擘劃「實踐永續,驅動未來」的永續藍圖

大學的社會責任是什麼?臺灣大學於6月23日發表臺大第一本《大學社會責任報告書》,彙整臺大經由校園治理、教學、研究、服務等具體行動,不斷落實大學社會責任( University Social Responsibility, USR )的永續藍圖。大學的社會責任不只是社區責任,校園的永續發展更不只是環境保護和生態綠化,臺大盼藉由此報告書的發布,呈現出大學對社會發揮知識的影響力,促進社會與經濟的發展,維護環境的永續,尤其當面臨挑戰時,如COVID-19,展現臺大對全球與在地的社會責任。

管中閔校長在遴選校長之初,即承諾將定期發行《大學社會責任報告書》,並於2019年上任後,正式成立USR 委員會與常設辦公室,著手規劃「臺大永續藍圖」,擬訂執行方案及編製USR 報告書。

管校長表示,貢獻社會本是大學應負之責,但於臺大尤具特殊意義。早在民國38年傅斯年校長演說即提到「我們貢獻這個大學于宇宙的精神」,演說中所提到的「敦品、勵學、愛國、愛人」,成為臺大校訓。在傅校長演說的71年後,不但CSR早已成為各企業必備的競爭力,USR更是各大學連結國際與在地應有的承擔。臺大不但依據聯合國2015年發布的17項「全球永續發展目標」(Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs),並以永續追蹤評量與測量系統(The Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating System ,STARS)為撰寫格式,成為全臺第一本整合SDG 與STARS面向,同時與國際接軌的《社會責任報告書》。

此報告書首度系統性地整理臺大永續願景藍圖、社會影響力以及校園永續力等 環境、社會、治理(Environmental, Social and Governance, ESG)各個面向的綜合績效;亦呈現臺大如何將 ESG 融入教學、研究、服務社會及創新創業,以躋身全球頂尖大學之列。大學社會責任的DNA早已深植於臺大各項專案計畫、教學與研究中,績效卓著。

管校長也在會中宣示依據「科學基礎減量目標倡議(Science Based Targets Initiative, SBTi)」,承諾善盡「巴黎協定」全球控制暖化在1.5℃內的全球社會責任,並設定減碳目標:2028年建校百年時達成碳中和50%的目標;2048年達成碳中和100%的目標。根據科學基礎減量目標倡議的程序,臺大提出承諾將於12個月內提出明確減量目標與達成目標的減碳路徑與具體措施;並積極推動碳中和相關研究發展,包括發展太陽能、地熱發電、風能、沼氣發電等新能源科技與推動森林健康管理增加碳吸存等。

臺大一向承擔國際與在地社會責任,並在臺灣這塊土地上扮演關鍵角色,透過優秀人才與豐沛資源,除了在專業領域追求卓越,也積極發揮所學與創新精神回應各界需求。臺大人足跡踏遍國內外各地,長年投入醫療研究、公共衛生教育、食品安全、食農教育、長期照護、智慧城市、永續環境與能源轉型等攸關下個世代的永續發展領域。舉例而言,臺大公衛學院學生遠赴非洲馬拉威,協助研究瘧疾;臺大醫院團隊赴南美洲瓜地馬拉,協助降低新生兒的疫病感染率;臺大世界志工社的同學,在臺灣募集電腦後,遠赴印度偏遠的喜馬拉雅山上的拉達克地區,投入資訊教學等。國內,則包括臺大生農學院的「植物醫生」在雲林協助病蟲害防治;實驗林團隊協助在地原住民就業培訓;學生們投身偏遠地區的國小課後輔導,嘗試以自己的熱情和專業,協助偏鄉與弱勢孩童的學習之路;其他如荔枝椿象防治、非洲豬瘟等事件,也可見到臺大人貢獻所長,捍衛國內糧食安全。

臺大十分樂意發揮領頭羊的角色,與各大專院校分享USR的經驗。管校長表示,期望此報告書的發布能號召各校一起投入,各自發揮所長,進而有更大的整體影響力,喚起國人更關注社會責任的議題。未來,臺大將定期發行USR 報告書,做為自我檢視與精進的管理工具,依此進一步盤點與整合相關的教學與研究能量,讓臺大的社會責任做的更深、更廣,以積極態度回應各界的期待並落實永續發展目標的理念。

  • 合照

    臺灣大學於6月23日發表臺大第一本《大學社會責任報告書》,彙整臺大經由校園治理、教學、研究、服務等具體行動。

  • (左至右)合照

    (左至右)羅清華副校長、管中閔校長、周家蓓副校長及張上淳副校長。

  • 管中閔校長致詞

    管中閔校長於6月23日發表臺大第一本《大學社會責任報告書》致詞。

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端