News

Spotlight

Date: 2020/7/10

NTU Sheds Light on the Development of Children’s Flu Vaccine

Prof. Chi-Tai Fang (方啓泰) of NTU’s Institute of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine and his research team successfully identified the causes for the inconsistent results of oil-in-water emulsion-adjuvanted influenza vaccine trials, shedding new light on the design of future influenza vaccines. Their findings were published in the prestigious Nature Communications on January 16, 2020. Young children are particularly vulnerable to complications from influenza, but the standard inactivated influenza vaccines are poorly immunogenic in young children. The oil-in-water emulsion-adjuvanted vaccine is a new generation influenza vaccine that offers the potential to enhance immunogenic efficacy; however, the clinical trials showed inconsistent results, and vaccine developers have been unable to identify the reasons for the inconsistency. These obstacles have thus severely delayed the research, development, and production of the vaccine.

Prof. Fang and his team meta-analyzed the efficacy data of over 15,000 participants and found that the baseline serostatus of the vaccine recipients had not been taken into account in previous studies. The team found that the baseline serostatus of participants would impact vaccine immunogenicity and protection. This study undertook the world’s first systematic review and meta-analysis on the use of oil-in-water emulsion adjuvants in seasonal influenza vaccines for young children. According to the results, adjuvanted influenza vaccines provided significantly better protection for healthy, unvaccinated children under the age of three, reducing the infection rate by 74%. However, for older children who had received standard inactivated influenza vaccines or had already been infected with influenza, the adjuvanted influenza vaccines did not show superior results, and thus standard vaccines are sufficient to offer favorable immunogenicity to these groups. These findings not only highlighted the necessity to factor in the patient’s serostatus but also served as important references for future vaccine development.

Every member of the research team is an advisee of Prof. Fang, including Yu-Ju Lin (林育如), the first author of the paper and senior technical specialist at the Center for Disease Control, Ministry of Health and Welfare; Ph.D. student Chiao-Ni Wen (溫巧尼); and Ph.D. candidate Yi-Hsuan Chen (陳怡諠). This research was funded by the Center for Disease Control of the Ministry of Health and Welfare.

This article is also featured in No. 79 of NTU Highlights (August 2020).

To read the paper, please visit: https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-019-14230-x.
About Prof. Chi-Tai Fang: https://scholars.lib.ntu.edu.tw/cris/rp/rp06639?&locale=en.

  • Image 1859_20200710_1

    Prof. Chi-Tai Fang (front row, first from right) and the team members.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:109年7月10日

臺大學術卓越系列報導–公衛學院流病預醫所方啓泰教授團隊研究成果刊登於Nature Communications

由臺大公衛學院流病預醫所方啓泰教授領導的研究團隊,成員包括:林育如、溫巧尼、陳怡諠及其他本校研究生,成功解開含水包油乳劑佐劑 (Oil-in-water emulsion adjuvants)流感疫苗試驗結果不穩定之謎,指明未來流感疫苗試驗設計應遵循的原則。該研究成果於2020年1月16日刊登於《自然通訊》(Nature Communications)期刊。

幼兒是流感重症高危險群,但接種常規流感疫苗對幼兒保護效果不理想。含水包油乳劑佐劑流感疫苗是極具潛力新一代候選兒童流感疫苗。但多項臨床試驗卻出現結果不一致現象,原因不明,令疫苗研發者極為困擾,嚴重延誤新式疫苗研發進程。本校研究團隊在本研究分析超過 15,000 名受試者臨床研究數據,發現接種疫苗前血清抗體狀態 (baseline serostatus) 是過去長久以來一直被忽略,但會影響接種疫苗後免疫反應及疫苗保護成效的重大關鍵因素。

本研究是全球第一篇以系統性文獻回顧及統合分析比較添加水包油乳劑佐劑流感疫苗與常規無佐劑流感疫苗對兒童的保護效果。研究結果顯示:對三歲以下未曾感染過流感且首次接種的孩童,佐劑疫苗保護效力較常規無佐劑疫苗高四倍;但對於已經感染過流感、或曾施打過常規流感疫苗的三歲以上兒童,佐劑疫苗與常規無佐劑疫苗皆可產生良好保護效果。此一發現將成為未來疫苗研發的重要參考。

本研究第一作者林育如簡任技正是方啓泰教授指導的流病預醫所博士班2019年畢業生,目前任職於衛生福利部疾病管制署。其他研究團隊成員包括溫巧尼博士生 (負責獨立驗證資料完整性)、陳怡諠博士候選人 (負責Meta-regression分析) 及其他參與研究的同學均為方啓泰老師指導的本校研究生。本研究感謝衛生福利部疾病管制署經費補助。

Nature Communications論文全文: https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-019-14230-x
流病預醫所方啓泰教授:https://scholars.lib.ntu.edu.tw/cris/rp/rp06639

  • 合照

    公衛學院流病預醫所方啓泰教授團隊研究成果刊登於Nature Communications

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端