News

Spotlight

Date: 2021/3/17

NTU Team Researches on High-performance Osmotic Power Generators in Bionic Ion Channels Published in Science Advances

The research team, headed by Professor Chia-Wen (Kevin) Wu (吳嘉文) from the Department of Chemical Engineering, and NTU alumnus Professor Li-Hsien Yeh from the Department of Chemical Engineering, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, received a year-long grant from the Ministry of Science and Technology’s Shackleton Program. After many trials and errors, the research team successfully fabricated a UiO-66-NH2 metal-organic framework (MOF) membrane onto an alumina nanochannel membrane (ANM). The results demonstrate ultrafast ion transport and ionic diode properties of the heterogeneous membrane, facilitating directional ion transport.

One of the 2015 UN Sustainable Development Goals is to conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development. Numerous international research teams have since looked into blue energy research and development, specifically to harness osmotic power using ion-selective membranes. However, past research had been limited. Due to the high mass transfer resistance and clearly insufficient ion selectivity of nonuniform nanochannel membranes, there were few breakthroughs in conversion efficiency.

The research team, headed by Professor Chia-Wen (Kevin) Wu from the Department of Chemical Engineering, and NTU alumnus Professor Li-Hsien Yeh from the Department of Chemical Engineering, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, received a year-long grant from the Ministry of Science and Technology’s Shackleton Program. They were inspired by the electric eel’s densely packed array of electrocytes with high ion transmissibility and selectivity (see image below). After many trials and errors, the research team successfully fabricated a large-scale, continuous, and pinhole free UiO-66-NH2 metal-organic framework (MOF) membrane onto an alumina nanochannel membrane (ANM). The results demonstrate ultrafast ion transport and ionic diode properties of the heterogeneous membrane, facilitating directional ion transport. The subnanochannel MOF membrane enables osmotic transport with a maximum power density of 26.8 W/m2, and an exceptionally high Br−/NO3− selectivity of ~1240, both setting a new record in the field. The study was recently published in international journal Science Advances, after undergoing rigorous peer review by 5 editor and receiving wide praise.

The research team believes that the MOF membrane, with its bionic ion channels, has the potential to open unexplored avenues in advanced separation technologies, seawater desalination, and other energy generation technologies. It is also worth mentioning that all four authors of this paper are Taiwanese. The team is grateful to the Ministry of Science and Technology’s Shackleton Program for its support and increasing Taiwan’s visibility.

To read more about the reasarch, please go to https://advances.sciencemag.org/content/7/10/eabe9924

  • Image 1931_20210317_1

    Inspired by electric eel electrocytes, this ordered heterogeneous subnanochannel membrane, facilitates ultrafast transport of specific ions with its high selectivity and ultrafast osmosis. Electricity is generated as a result of an ionic concentration difference between the two sides of the membrane.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:110年3月17日

臺大化工系吳嘉文教授所組「沙克爾頓團隊」 開發仿生物離子通道功能性之高效滲透能源發電機 成果刊登於《Science Advances》

聯合國2015年所提之永續發展目標宣示將在2030年前永續利用海洋資源,以確保地球永續發展。而在藍色清淨能源研發中,利用具有離子選擇性的薄膜,來達成滲透能發電,吸引眾多國際團隊投入,但過去相關研究受限於無序奈米孔洞薄膜之高質傳阻力,及明顯不足之離子選擇性,導致效能突破上受到限制。

本校化工系吳嘉文教授與系友—現任臺科大化工系葉禮賢教授,近一年多來在科技部支持下,共組沙克爾頓研究團隊。團隊啟發於電鰻發電細胞中高孔洞密度、高離子傳輸且高離子選擇之次奈米尺度生物離子通道特性(下圖),不斷克服重重困難,終於將「大面積範圍」、「連續」、且「無缺陷」之金屬有機骨架(UiO-66-NH2)薄膜,成功生長於另一「高度有序氧化鋁奈米通道薄膜」(ANM)上,研究成果驗證此異質薄膜具有超高速離子傳輸與離子二極體特性,可幫助離子快速往單一方向運行,因此可輸出高達26.8 W/m2滲透能源功率密度,及1240倍之超高Br—/NO3—陰離子選擇比,兩數值皆創下了領域內之新世界紀錄。此研究成果被期刊主編與五位審稿委員嚴格審查後,得到一致好評,近期甫被國際頂尖期刊《科學前緣》(Science Advances)接受發表。

團隊成員相信,仿生物離子通道功能性之金屬有機骨架異質薄膜,未來在先進分離技術、海水淡化或其他能源領域亦有很大發展空間。另值得一提的是,本篇論文四位作者皆是臺灣隊成員,更顯難得。團隊十分感謝科技部沙克爾頓研究計畫之支持,讓世界更看見臺灣。

相關研究成果可參考:https://advances.sciencemag.org/content/7/10/eabe9924

  • 圖1

    模仿電鰻發電細胞方式製備出具有高離子選擇、高離子滲透能力之有序異質奈米孔洞薄膜,可控制只讓特定離子高速通過,造成薄膜兩邊產生電位差進而發電。

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端