News

Spotlight

Date: 2022/3/16

Ultrafast 2 × 2 Green Micro-LED Array Driving
Simultaneous Growth of Smart Displays and Communications

The collaboration among Dr. Gong-Ru Lin 林恭如 (Professor of NTU’s Graduate Institute of Photonics and Optoelectronics and the Dept. of Electrical Engineering), Dr. Hao-Chung Kuo 郭浩中 (Professor of National Yang-Ming Chiao-Tung University), and Dr. Chih-Hsien Cheng 程志賢 (JSPS Research Fellow with the University of Tokyo) on the ultrafast 2 × 2 green micro-light-emitting-diode (micro-LED) array has broken a new world record on data transmission speed via visible-light (optical) wireless communication in free space: 5-Gbit/s and beyond.

This latest ultrafast green micro-LED array has followed in the footsteps of high-speed blue and red micro-LED devices to complete the last research mile that enables free-space optical wireless communication using smart display devices. The research paper resulting from the three researchers’ collaboration has been accepted for publication by Optica (formerly the Optical Society of America), subsequently reviewed and recommended by Prof. Harald Haas of the University of Edinburgh in Scotland, and selected to be included in Optica’s Spotlight on Optics, which publishes the top 1% articles from the nearly 10,000 papers published by Optica annually. Spotlight on Optics has been published electronically for over a decade and is known to be extremely selective. Prof. Lin, Prof. Kuo and Dr. Cheng’s article is one of only two with correspondence addresses of Taiwanese academic institutions this year.

Prof. Haas is a world-renowned scholar in the fields of lighting fidelity (LiFi) and visible light communication (VLC). As recommended in his summary report to this research in Spotlight on Optics, Prof. Haas pointed out that data rates as high as 5 Gbps, as delivered by Dr. Lin and Dr. Kuo’s teams using high-bandwidth, spectrally stable micro-LEDs in the visible light spectrum, will usher in a new era of intelligent displays and metaverse-related applications. Currently the communication data rates of video data streaming require up to 1 terabit per second (Tbps) or at least 4 gigabit per second (Gbps) after distortion-free compression, especially for enabling head-mounted augmented reality (AR) devices to display fluent images that meet the perceived visual quality of humans. To satisfy this demand, it is therefore crucial to develop the ideal candidate for a projecting light source in the visible spectrum that enables such high data rates to realize distortion-free AR vision. For efficient utilization of the spectral frequency band available in the visible spectrum, however, the development of LED devices with ultra-high electrical modulation bandwidth and near-ideal optoelectronic conversion efficiency remains a fundamental challenge in the academic community.

This world-leading 2 × 2 green micro-LED array with ultrafast electrooptical modulation bandwidth originates from Prof. Kuo’s novel structural design for green LED that overcomes the limitation set by the quantum-confined Stark effect, thus effectively solving the bottleneck that reduces emission efficiency under high injected current densities. The device's elegant and unique design essentially solves the problem left for future wave-division multiplexing applications: the spectral broadening and offset under high injection currents that persistently affected modulation speed and efficiency in past component designs. Another significant improvement came from Prof. Lin's proposal for packaging and integrating this array into a specially designed microwave adapter, which effectively improves the 3-dB electrooptical modulation bandwidth to 800-MHz for performing high-speed data encoding assembly. It is envisaged that this component can achieve data transmission rates close to 10 Gbps through enhanced compensated digital driving and modulation circuit technology. The release of the 2 × 2 green micro-LED array device became immediately valued by metaverse-related industry players such as Meta, Foxconn Technology and Brogent Technologies. With its superior performance parameters, the device is expected to lead to explosive growth in the demand for applications in intelligent displays, AR and lighting communications.

Captions:

Upper left: Device structure of a semi-polarized green micro LED (G-μLED)

Upper right: Semi-cylindrical grating design for the semi-polarized G-μLED

Middle right: Bird’s-eye view of the semi-polarized G-μLED surface

Lower left: Microscopic image of the G-μLED

Lower Middle: Light spot of the G-μLED

Lower right: Microscopic view of surface grating of the G-μLED

The researchers’ work has been published in Spotlight on Optics:
https://opg.optica.org/prj/fulltext.cfm?uri=prj-9-10-2077&id=460138

  • Image 2040_20220316_1

    Schematic diagrams of green micro-LED (G-μLED) array

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:111年3月16日

超高速綠光微型LED 讓智慧顯示與通訊並進

本校光電所暨電機系林恭如教授與陽明交通大學郭浩中教授,及日本東京大學特約研究員程志賢博士聯手合作最新研究成果,以超快2x2綠色微型發光二極體陣列元件(Green Micro-LED, G- LED),達成在自由空間中超過5-Gbit/s可見光無線通信數據傳輸的全球最快紀錄。

這個超高速綠光微型LED陣列的研究成果,是繼高速藍光與紅光微型發光二極體元件的開發後,讓智慧顯示裝置也能進行自由空間光通訊研究發展的最後一哩路。該篇論文獲美國光學學會接受發表,並經由英國愛丁堡大學Harald Haas教授審閱以短文總結,從該學會每年近一萬篇出版論文中,選錄至多僅1%為焦點論文,報導於美國光學學會《光學聚焦》Spotlight on Optics。《光學聚焦》電子網頁創刊已逾十年,自全年出版近一萬篇論文中,選錄僅1%為焦點論文。今年所有獲選文章中僅有2篇以臺灣學術機構為通訊住址,本篇論文為其中之一。

Haas教授在全球LiFi (Lighting Fidelity)與VLC (Visible Light Communication)領域中廣為人知,他在《光學聚焦》所推薦的論文總結報導中指出,由林教授與郭教授團隊所研發具有高頻寬且光譜穩定的可見光微型LED,提供五十億位元/秒(5-Gbps)以上的數據串流速率,將開啟智慧顯示與元宇宙等相關應用的新紀元。目前,頭戴式增強實境裝置要產生滿足人類感知視覺品質的影像,信號串流傳輸所需原始數據速率高達每秒1太比特(Tbit/s),即使經過不失真壓縮後,仍須 4 Gbps數據傳輸位元率。因此,開發允許此類數據速率的可見光譜區投影光源理想候選者,對於實現無失真增強實境視覺裝置的技術至關重要。然而,為能充分利用可見光區可用的光譜頻段,超高電調變頻寬與接近理想光電轉換效率的發光二極體元件開發,至今仍是學術界根本性挑戰課題。

這個獨步全球具備超快電-光調變頻寬的2x2微型綠光LED陣列,由郭教授提出新穎的綠光LED元件結構設計方案,藉以突破目前此類元件中量子侷限斯塔克效應,有效解決高電流密度注入元件時會降低發射效率的瓶頸。此元件優雅而獨到的設計也一併解決了過去在分波多工應用上,受限於元件設計,在高電流操作偏移發射光譜時,始終會造成譜線拓寬,而影響調變速度與效率的問題。另一項重大改進來自於林教授對此陣列元件提出能整合微波轉接頭的高速數據調變封裝設計,此設計能有效提升其電光調變3-dB頻寬達到800-MHz,據推測,若能再透過增強補償的數位驅動與調製電路技術,應可使此元件實現接近10-Gbps的數據傳輸速率。此一元件的發表隨即受到元宇宙相關概念產業的重視,如Meta、鴻海、智崴等公司,以其優越的性能參數,在智慧顯示、擴增實境、照明通信與相關產業的應用需求上,預期都將有爆炸性的成長。

詳細圖說:

上左: 綠光微型發光二極體(G-uLED)元件縱向剖面結構示意圖
上右: 綠光微型發光二極體(G-uLED)元件極化光選擇輸出光柵設計結構示意圖
中右: 綠光微型發光二極體(G-uLED)元件半極化輸出選擇光柵鳥瞰圖
下左: 綠光微型發光二極體(G-uLED)元件顯微照片正視圖
下中: 綠光微型發光二極體(G-uLED)元件發光照片正視圖
下右: 綠光微型發光二極體(G-uLED)元件半極化選擇光柵圓柱結構近距顯微照片

研究成果已刊登於國際期刊《光學聚焦》:https://opg.optica.org/prj/fulltext.cfm?uri=prj-9-10-2077&id=460138

  • 圖1

    綠光微型發光二極體(G-uLED)元件各項示意圖

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端