News

Spotlight

Date: 2021/4/8

"Virus-Host Chimera DNA" from Hepatitis B Virus Integration Sites as A Novel Circulating Biomarker of Hepatocellular Cancer

When hepatocytes are infected with hepatitis B virus (HBV), about 0.1% of them take HBV DNA into their chromosome at random sites. Unique virus-host chimera DNAs (vh-DNA) are generated from junctions of random HBV integrations in the genome. The clonal expansion of hepatocytes on their path to malignancy causes most tumor cells to have their own unique vh-DNA, which becomes a specific signature tumor marker for the individual HCC in question. As vh-DNA is present in about 90% of HBV-related HCC cases and vh-DNA is released in circulation during tumor turnover, detection of vh-DNA from the tumor in plasma is potentially a novel blood tumor marker for HBV-related HCC.

The hepatitis research team at NTU College of Medicine, led by Academia Sinica Academician Pei-Jer Chen (陳培哲), including Professor Shiou-Hwei Yeh (葉秀慧) of the Department of Microbiology, Professor Ming-Chih Ho (何明志) of the Department of Surgery at NTU Hospital and researchers at TCM Biotech International Corp. (泰宗生物科技公司), has successfully validated the potential of the virus-host chimera DNA (vh-DNA) as a circulating biomarker for HCC. Fifty patients with resectable HBV-related HCC were recruited for the study. HBV DNA integration was detected in the resected tumor tissues in about 90% of the subjects using capture-NGS platform technology. A vh-DNA-specific droplet digital PCR (ddPCR) assay was designed based on the detected HBV integration sequence for individual HCC, which showed a positive correlation between the copy numbers of vh-DNA in plasma samples and the tumor sizes. The detection limit of vh-DNA for HCC is approximately 1.5 cm in diameter. The positive detection rate was significantly higher than that of AFP and PIVKA-II, which are the serum tumor markers most widely used in the current clinical setting. The results support the conclusion that vh-DNA can be used as a potential blood tumor marker for the detection of HBV-related HCC.

Since about one-third of HCC patients develop recurrent tumor in the first year after tumor resection, in association with poor survival rates, the research team further attempted to use this technology to detect vh-DNA in the blood samples collected from patients two months after surgery to verify whether it could be used as a biomarker for tumor recurrence. Cell-free DNA in the blood has low stability with a half-life of only a few hours. Therefore, vh-DNA detected in the blood collected two months after tumor resection would indicate that tumor cells are still present in the patient’s body and suggest a high probability for tumor recurrence. The results of the study show that 90% of the patients with positive vh-DNA in the blood two months after tumor resection experienced HCC recurrence within one year. The statistical analysis clearly indicates that the “presence of vh-DNA in plasma collected two months after tumor resection” is the most significant risk factor for HCC recurrence within one year. This study supports the feasibility of applying vh-DNA clinically to detect the postoperative recurrence of HBV-related HCC. All that required is collecting blood samples for recurrence monitoring, which will help physicians provide appropriate treatment to patients as early as possible. This part of the study has currently entered the clinical trial stage with collaboration from the industry.

In addition to providing a novel and clinically practical blood tumor marker for detecting HBV-related HCC, the identification of unique HBV integration sites in the HCC genome can also clarify the clonality of the recurrent tumor relative to the primary tumor as well as provide clues for further tumor treatment. The results of this study have been published in the journal Hepatology, and the paper has also been recommended by F1000Prime (the editorial team of the F1000 Gastroenterology & Hepatology Faculty) for its “special significance in its field”, which is an important recognition of the study’s contribution.

Refer to the following for the study’s full text: https://aasldpubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1002/hep.31230

  • Image 1936_20210408_1

    Cell-Free Virus-Host Chimera DNA From Hepatitis B Virus Integration Sites as a Circulating Biomarker of Hepatocellular Cancer.

  • Image 1936_20210408_2

    NTU Hepatitis Research Team.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:110年4月8日

臺大肝炎研究團隊成功開發「病毒宿主嵌合DNA」 為B型肝炎病毒相關肝癌之新穎血液腫瘤標記

B型肝炎病毒(Hepatitis B virus, HBV)感染肝細胞時,經由病毒DNA隨機嵌入宿主肝細胞基因體,會在個別肝細胞基因體中產生獨特的「病毒宿主嵌合DNA序列」(virus-host chimera DNA, vh-chimera DNA)。肝細胞癌化過程所進行之Clonal expansion,會導致大部分肝癌細胞均具有其獨特的vh-chimera DNA,成為個別肝癌之特異腫瘤標記。有鑑於在約九成的HBV相關肝癌中皆存在vh-chimera DNA,且腫瘤細胞生長代謝時會將其基因體釋放至周邊血液,因此偵測血液中來自腫瘤之vh-chimera DNA,將有機會成為檢測涵蓋大部分B肝相關肝癌之新穎血液腫瘤標記。

臺大醫學院由陳培哲院士所領導的肝炎研究團隊,結合微生物學科葉秀慧教授、臺大醫院外科何明志教授與泰宗生物科技公司的共同合作,成功驗證vh-chimera DNA作為肝癌之血液腫瘤標記的可能性。針對50位接受手術切除肝癌之B肝肝癌病人,利用Capture-NGS技術平台,在約九成患者之腫瘤組織中偵測到HBV DNA的嵌入。依據所偵測到的嵌入序列,為個別vh-chimera DNA設計特異性的微滴式數位核酸偵測分析(Droplet digital PCR,ddPCR),結果顯示血液中vh-chimera DNA含量與腫瘤大小呈正相關性,可偵測到最小約1.5公分之肝癌;且其偵測的陽性率顯著高於臨床上廣為採用之血清標記AFP及PIVKA-II,充分支持vh-chimera DNA可成為偵測肝癌之潛力血液腫瘤標記。

有鑑於三分之一的肝癌病人於手術切除腫瘤後第一年內發生復發,而降低患者總體存活率,研究團隊因此進一步嘗試利用此技術平台,偵測患者術後兩個月所採集血液中之vh-chimera DNA含量,驗證其是否可作為腫瘤復發之生物指標。血中游離DNA的穩定度低,半生期僅有數小時,因此若術後兩個月採集之血液中仍能測到vh-chimera DNA,即代表體內仍存在腫瘤細胞,可能發生肝癌復發。研究結果顯示在術後兩個月血液中vh-chimera DNA呈現陽性的患者,有90%在一年內發生復發,統計分析更清楚指出「術後兩個月血中vh-chimera DNA陽性結果」為一年內肝癌復發與否之最顯著影響因子。此研究成果支持將「病毒宿主嵌合DNA」應用於臨床上偵測術後B肝肝癌復發之可行性,利用抽血檢查即可進行肝癌術後的復發追蹤,協助醫師盡早為病患提供適當的治療。目前此研究已進行產學合作,並已進入臨床試驗階段。

本研究除了提供一嶄新且可實際應用於臨床檢測B肝肝癌之血液腫瘤標記,HBV於肝癌基因體中獨特嵌入點之定位,亦可協助釐清復發肝癌與原發肝癌之同源性,並進一步為後續治療提供重要參考。此研究成果已發表於《肝病學》(Hepatology)期刊,本篇論文同時獲得F1000Prime(The editorial team of the F1000 Gastroenterology & Hepatology Faculty)推薦為具有「special significance in its field」之論文,充分顯現對本研究成果之肯定。

全文請見:https://aasldpubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1002/hep.31230

  • 圖1

    B型肝炎病毒宿主嵌合DNA為B型肝炎相關肝癌之游離DNA腫瘤標記

  • 圖2

    臺大肝炎研究團隊照

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端