News

Spotlight

Date: 2021/7/20

NTU Released Social Responsibility and Sustainability Report to Promote Sustainability Governance

NTU has released its second social responsibility and sustainability report, which highlights the results of NTU’s efforts in working towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) announced by the United Nations through the school’s governance, research, service, and teaching. Since COVID-19 started to ravage the world in 2020, many NTU members have joined the fight against the disease to guard the health of all Taiwanese people. The report also summarizes the measures taken by NTU and the contributions made by NTU members in addressing COVID-19.

NTU’s persistent efforts in social responsibility are proven effective. In the CommonWealth University Citizen Rankings (USR) survey conducted by CommonWealth Magazine, NTU took the top spot in the category of public university for two consecutive years in 2020 and 2021. In 2020, NTU also received Taiwan Corporate Sustainability Awards (TCSA) in the categories of “Outstanding Sustainability University” and “Outstanding University Sustainability Reports”. Furthermore, since President Chung-Ming Kuan (管中閔) took office, he had been actively working with multiple student groups and the Office of Financial Affairs to promote socially responsible investment and to divest the university fund from high-pollution and high-emission industries. The goal was achieved in less than two years, making NTU the first university in Asia to have completed such disinvestment. In June 2020, NTU took the initiative to announce its carbon reduction goal: 50% carbon neutrality by 2028 and 100% carbon neutrality by 2048 as a response to the Paris Agreement. Following the goals set by Science Based Targets Initiative (SBTi), NTU also laid out its future reduction measures. Based on detailed calculations, NTU is expected to move from carbon neutrality towards net-zero emissions through the development of carbon-negative technologies, increased energy efficiency, the use of carbon-free electricity and low-carbon energy, and electrification.

As NTU strives to be great, it continues to base its action on sustainability and altruism. By publicly revealing its practices and initiatives, NTU aims to stand with society and the environment to create mutual benefit and to meet society’s expectations for NTU.

Note: NTU commissions a third party to verify the stated achievements regarding social contributions and university governance specified in the report every two years.

Download the English report: https://oir.ntu.edu.tw/ntusdg/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/2020-USR-Report-EN.pdf

  • Image 1969_20210720_1

    NTU Released Social Responsibility and Sustainability Report to Promote Sustainability Governance.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:110年7月20日

臺大發布社會責任報告書 積極推動永續校園治理

國立臺灣大學發布第二本社會責任報告書,是以全球推動永續發展的共同語言—聯合國永續發展目標SDGs為框架,透過治理、研究、服務、教學,展現本校多元的社會責任作為,向內積極建構校園永續力,向外擴大拓展社會影響力。2020年COVID-19肆虐全球,許多臺大人挺身而出,以自身的專業,齊力守護臺灣社會的健康,報告書也彙整校園因應疫情的各項措施,以及教師、學生、職員與校友的主要貢獻。

臺大長年深耕社會責任有成,2020年與2021年連續兩年獲得天下雜誌「USR大學公民調查」公立一般大型大學組冠軍,並於2020年獲TCSA台灣企業永續獎「台灣永續典範大學獎」及「大學永續報告獎 白金獎」殊榮。此外,管中閔校長上任後,積極促成學生團體與財務處共同推動負責任投資,從高汙染、高碳排產業撤資,於短短兩年內便成功達標,為亞洲第一所完成撤資的大學。本校更於2020年6月主動呼應巴黎協定,提出「2028年碳中和50%,2048年碳中和100%」目標,將依據科學基礎減量目標倡議(Science Based Targets Initiative, SBTi) ,提出具體減碳路徑。根據縝密計算後,確定本校可透過負碳技術的發展、能源效率的提升、去碳電力及低碳能源的使用、與電力化等方式,由原先的「碳中和」目標改為更加積極的「淨零碳排」目標。

本校在邁向頂尖的同時,將持續以「永續」、「利他」的行動實踐社會責任,透過公開透明的精神,揭露自身作為,與社會共榮、環境共生、彼此共好,回應各界對於臺大的期待。本校亦將每兩年委請第三方確信驗證的方式揭露本校在社會貢獻及校園治理等相關作為與績效。

中文版報告書下載網址:https://oir.ntu.edu.tw/ntusdg/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/2020-USR-Report-CH.pdf

英文版報告書下載網址:https://oir.ntu.edu.tw/ntusdg/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/2020-USR-Report-EN.pdf

  • 圖1

    臺大發布社會責任報告書 積極推動永續校園治理。

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端