News

Spotlight

Date: 2022/8/3

Target Net-Zero Emissions: NTU Signed an MOU with CPC Corp., Taiwan

In response to the government’s energy transition policy and moving toward the 2050 net-zero emission goal, NTU and CPC Corporation (CPC), Taiwan jointly signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) on net-zero emissions on July 25. 

NTU President Chung Ming Kuan and Chairman of CPC Shun-Chin Lee have reached a consensus to carry out industry-academia cooperation to promote the goals of “Optimizing oil, Reducing carbon, and Cleaning energy,” showing their determination to achieve the “Taiwan’s net zero” goal in the near future.

The MOU addresses the carbon reduction and exchange methods, the creation and acquisition of forest carbon sinks, the development and application of low- and zero-carbon energy, and other collaboration issues related to zero emissions and carbon neutrality.

President Chung-Ming Kuan stated that NTU puts a great emphasis on the issue of net zero emissions. The “Social Responsibility and Sustainability Report” published in 2020 disclosed the University’s goal of “Reaching carbon neutrality by 50% in 2028; Achieving carbon neutrality by 100% in 2048.” In addition to the joint efforts made by the NTU faculty, staff, students, and the relevant institutions on energy conservation and carbon reduction, NTU is very happy to collaborate with CPC this time. 

President Kuan hopes CPC will continue to support NTU’s research on new technologies and work hand in hand to achieve the goal of net zero emissions. He stressed that the value of higher education is to apply the fruit of research of the University to society, making a long-term and profound influence on all humanity.

  • Image 2080_20220803_1

    NTU Signed an MOU with CPC Corp., Taiwan.

Current Spotlight

facebook twitter plurk Print Friendly
Top

校園訊息

焦點新聞

更新日期:111年8月3日

臺灣大學與台灣中油簽署淨零排放合作意向書

為響應政府能源轉型政策,邁向2050淨零排放目標,國立臺灣大學與台灣中油公司於7月25日共同簽署「淨零排放合作意向書」,雙方將展開產學合作,推動淨零排放以協助台灣中油實踐「優油、減碳、潔能」的轉型目標,同時也展現「臺灣淨零,攜手前行」的決心。

雙方由臺大校長管中閔、台灣中油董事長李順欽共同簽署淨零排放合作意向書,經濟部主任秘書陳怡鈴到場觀禮,雙方合作意向書內容自研議多元減碳及抵換方式開始,延伸到森林碳匯的創造及取得、建置智慧型低碳場域、研發應用低零碳能源、開發導入減碳技術及其它淨零排放或碳中和相關的合作議題。

管中閔校長表示,聯合國氣候變遷專門委員會於去年發布的評估報告,明確表示氣候變遷的嚴重性與淨零排放的重要性。臺大十分重視淨零排放的議題,除了早在2020年出版的「社會責任與永續報告書」中,有明確揭露本校「2028年碳中和50%,2048年碳中和100%」的目標外,相關學院在今年暑假也舉辦節能減碳議題的線上工作坊,管校長和許多主管都全程參與。臺大很高興能與台灣中油合作,希望能持續支持臺大對於新技術的研究,共同為淨零排放的目標努力,高等教育的重要價值就是將大學的研究成果,為全人類帶來長遠的改變。

李順欽董事長指出,台灣中油已設定2030年排碳量較2005年減量49.5%的中期目標,並以2050年達成淨零排放為願景,此為跨世代、跨領域國際轉型工程,無法單打獨鬥,需要大家攜手同行,臺灣大學是國內首屈一指大學,共同合作將能更快速整合臺灣淨零排放的經營策略、環境科技及氣候法制規劃等領域,以具體提出實施計畫及配套的作業方法,建立階段目標,再以分期推動方式,達成企業能源轉型及產業轉型計畫。

目前雙方對於善用土地資產創造森林碳匯及進行碳封存技術交流等合作議題上,均已建立基本默契,雙方簽署MOU確認共同的方向與路徑後,將更能強化雙方攜手前行、共同推進臺灣淨零的力量。

  • 圖1

    臺灣大學與台灣中油簽署淨零排放合作意向書。

當期焦點

facebook twitter plurk 友善列印
回到頂端